We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel for long drives” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
125 Plaza Drive, Mount Airy, NC 27030   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mount Airy
rochester ny
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“nice hotel for long drives”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

After 12 hours of driving through fog, rain, wind, and the wild mountain roads I had enough. I saw this hotel and pulled in. The check in clerk was very friendly, and we got a great AAA rate for 2 rooms. The rooms decent, comfortable, clean, and quiet. It's right off the highway. The morning breakfast which is included is decent, and filling,and the area was clean. The staff friendly and helpful, a nice place to stay while driving on vacation.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    75
    25
    3
    4
See reviews for
105
81
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

We stopped here on our way back NY. It was convenient to the interstate. There is a truck stop next door, but you'd never know it because we didn't hear the trucks at all. There is a decent restraurant at the truck stop as well as one across the road too. We weren't too impressed with the one across the road though. It was ok. The rooms at the Best Western were comfortable. The bed spread appeared to be a little old, but the bed was fairly comfortable. We didn't hear much noise at all. There was a small breakfast bar in the lobby. It was adequate but didn't have a wide selection. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2007

After reading the mostly positive reviews on TripAdvisor, I decided to spend the night at Best Western in Mount Airy. The AAA discount made it a good deal. Checking in was quick and the staff very friendly. My room and bathroom were spotless and quite spacious. They have amenities such as shampoos, hair dryer, iron and many cable stations. A free breakfast in the morning consisted of juice, cereal, hard boiled eggs and oatmeal to name a few.

The location is about 7 miles from downtown Mount Airy. There is one restaurant next to the motel, which is owned by the motel. Diners can get a 10% dicount on meals. Not much of a selection though and found prices a little high. Better to drive to Mount Airy for more variety.

  • Liked — Clean, friendly staff, well maintained
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia MD
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

Nice pretty new outdoor entrance motel. Since its newer, the rooms are a bit larger allowing for queen beds instead of doubles -- a nice feature when traveling with three kids. Good Contenental breakfast featuring biskets and gravey.

  • Liked — Room size and cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

Clean, nice room a little over priced at 89 a night for one person, some advice stay away from the truckstop next door poor food at high prices.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — overpriced
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2007

My family (2 adults, 3 young kids) were traveling from Ohio to Florida. I did some research on the internet, and had a few motels in mind as we drove down the road toward Charlotte. But when the friendly clerk at the Best Western Bryson answered the phone, we immediately felt good about it. She offered us a great rate, and the motel was right off the highway.

This is one of the cleanest, quietest motels I've ever stayed in. We liked it so much, we stayed there on our return trip, too! We will recommend the Best Western Bryson to anyone we know traveling through the area!

  • Liked — Clean, friendly, quiet and convenient
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2006

We took a motorcycle trip from Washington, DC, to Fontana Dam, NC at the end of April '06, and decided to split the ride down in half. We compared the different hotels that we found in the Mt. Airy area, and this one seemed to be the best- especially after spotting a review written by another bike owner.

After sitting on a motorcycle for 8 hours, our room seemed almost like a 4 star hotel to me! It's very clean and comfortable, and the staff has the Carolina friendliness that I love. I tend to be wary of cheaper hotel chains, mostly because I'm extremely picky/sensitive/whatever you want to call it, about bathrooms and their cleanliness- this one totally passed the test!

There is also a cheap truck stop diner just down the hill, that we walked to. We got (my favorite!) yummy sweet tea, and burgers that were huge and cheap, and a friendly waitress.

In the morning, my husband discovered that he needed a tire replaced on the bike, and the front desk was helpful in giving him info on local motorcycle repair shops- I think it was a Yamaha dealership that we wound up going to, who took us right away and had us on the road in 2 hours. Great guys!

Overall, I'd say this is a great stopover point for a comfy, clean room and a good night's sleep. We'll definitely go back next year!

  • Liked — Great location to get on/off highway; very clean & comfortable for the price
  • Tips/Secrets — This is a good stopover point! Mt. Airy's a great town to visit and this would be a good place to use as a jumping off point to find other spots/get used to the area.
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn

Address: 125 Plaza Drive, Mount Airy, NC 27030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mount Airy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bryson Hotel Mount Airy
Best Western Mount Airy
Mount Airy Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.