We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mayberry Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Airy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayberry Motor Inn
Save
You added Mayberry Motor Inn to your Saves list
501 North Andy Griffith Parkway, Mount Airy, NC 27030   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Mount Airy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sand Springs Ok
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and grandkids, my wife being a big Andy Griffith fan. The room was comfortable and clean, but just an average size and quality. The breakfast was minimal, packaged rolls, coffee and some fruit. The grounds were very relaxing and well maintained, but we didn't get to try out the pool, which looked very clean. The staff was quite friendly and of course, helpful with anything related to the Andy Griffith Show. My wife intended to look at the Aunt Bea room, but somehow missed it. I could have found a cheaper room at one of the chains in town, but would have missed the Mayberry related ambiance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    27
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
43
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed one night traveling back to Ohio. Extremely neat and clean. Very comfortable beds, very clean, up to date. Looks like you are back in the 1960's. There is an Aunt Bea room with many items she collected through the years while on the Andy Griffith Show. The vintage sheriff car and Emmit's fix it truck parked in front are cool. Nice place to stay while visiting Mt. Airy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed one night BFF's,Cleanest motel they have stayed in on vacations in a while, saw Aunt Bea's room, met Mrs. Alma and her lovely daughter. Felt so welcomed and safe, No complaints, slept so well, I checked the Mattress, got to have one! Ready for another road trip, after this one, Great time staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I hate writing this review because I liked this place, but they really let me down. I brought a group of motorcyclists here for a night. We made our reservations 3 months on advance and everyone in our group had a confirmation. My husband and I booked a King room. 2 other couples also booked king rooms. The motel clerk called us @10pm the night before to see if we still planned on staying at the motel. We thought that was really strange, we're they planning on giving away our room? When we arrived they changed our room to 2 doubles. Another couple also had their room changed to a double, but the worst thing was a third couple was told they did not have a room at all. Even with the confirmation in hand the hotel manager said sorry we don't have a room left. They allowed other guests to extend their stay without realizing they were coming up short on rooms. This is completely unacceptable. Reservations don't mean anything to this motel anymore. I'm sorry to say I will not return to this motel

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My family and I stayed here for one night in June and really liked it! The room was nice, clean, and afforadable The people who run the hotel were very friendly and if we go back to Mt. Airy, we will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night...rooms are not big but they are very clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very small but enough for your needs and it was clean and rust free. Price was responsable and they gave AAA discount. Would stay here again if we ever pass through.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Mt. Airy, North Carolina, near the Blue Ridge Parkway, was the home of Andy Griffith, and was the inspiration for "Mayberry", made famous by the Andy Griffith Show, hence the Mayberry Motor Inn. If you can remember traveling in the days before interstate highways, and stopping at a small "mom and pop" motel where you parked your car right in front of your room, that is the Mayberry Motor Inn. This nostalgic little motel is the reincarnation of the roadside motels of the "60's. It has a small office with "The Andy Griffith Show" memorabilia gracing every nook and cranny. They even have the squad car parked outside. The rooms are quite comfortable and clean, but dated as you would expect. The bed provided a restful night's sleep. The t.v. was a "80's or '90's model, but had a great picture, and received all of the popular channels. They have an outdoor swimming pool which we did not use, and a garden that should be quite lovely in summer. We were there mid-May, and not everything was in bloom yet. The price per room is quite reasonable compared to most chain motels today. If you are looking for a little nostalgia on your trip, you can't go wrong with the Mayberry Motor Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayberry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayberry Motor Inn

Address: 501 North Andy Griffith Parkway, Mount Airy, NC 27030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Airy
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Mayberry Motor Hotel Mount Airy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayberry Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.