We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing & romantic get away ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Airy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast
347 West Pine Street, Mount Airy, NC 27030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Mount Airy B&B and Inns
Auburn Al
1 review
“The most amazing & romantic get away ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

The owners of the Sobotta Manor were very accomadating & friendly. Our room was tastfully decorated with all the trimmings for a romantic birthday weekend out of town. Robin catered to our every whelm, taking us to the best wine tastings the entire day. In the evenings we enjoyed sitting on the patio with a glass of wine admiring the garden. We will definatly come back to stay again...maybe even make it a yearly tradition. Thanks again Robin!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    412
    17
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
299
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

After witnessing a ceremony in Beaufort, SC, where our son became the Commanding Officer of Marine Corps Fighter Squadron VMFA-251, we were quite tired on our trip back to PA and decided, at the last minute, to find a B&B and sight see in Mt. Airy. What a delightful find! A beautiful "home" with a hostess (Robin) that truly made you feel at home. Her recommendations for dinner were excellent and tips for sight seeing in Mt. Airy made the end of our trip back to PA so memorable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Sobotta Manor is a very quiet, intimate bed and breakfast with a welcoming hostess, Robin, who accommodated a specific breakfast request. The meal far exceeded expectations as each course was elegantly served and tasted wonderful.

The entire house was furnished and decorated beautifully, with a very comfortable bed complete with turndown service.

A stroll through the gardens was relaxing and the grounds are gorgeous.

The only concern that crossed our mind was the lock system on the bedroom door. The doors open with a skeleton key (fine from the outside), but also had to be opened to get of the room, which could be awkward in an emergency situation. We couldn't find a place to plug in our laptop (a 3 prong plug), but were told after the fact that adapters were in the drawers, so you may want to know this if you need a 3 prong plug.

Other than these very two minute issues, this is a beautiful bed and breakfast you will certainly enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

The inn itself was charming and every detail attended to, the grounds well maintained and inviting for strolls, however the real treaure here is the host and hostess: Robin and 'Junior'. From the moment you walk in you feel welcomed and 'part of the family'-yet not imposed upon or obligated to engage. Robin was a font of informaiton about the area and activity options, 'Junior' quick to help in anyway possible. Breakfasts were symbolic of the entire experiece- homey yet elegant, abundant and of course a little sweet to set the tone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

The whole house is gorgeous. All of the spacious rooms are impeccably decorated; the bedrooms each have their own special look and included large private baths. Our room was very comfortable. The bed and pillows were soft and plush yet gave great support. The air conditioning featured a remote control to adjust the temperature while still in bed.

The beautiful dining room, with the table set with fine china and crystal, made a fantastic setting for a breakfast that was definitely a gourmet’s delight.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary in a special setting. This being our first time staying in a B & B, we didn't know if we would like staying in someone else's home. Robin made us feel like we were family. The decor is exquisite yet inviting, the rooms are very comfortable and private, and the breakfasts were divine. We had a truly wonderful experience from the time we entered Mt. Airy until our departure.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro,NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

Beautiful Home,Great hospitality,Scrumptious Breakfast,Marvelously Comfortable Bed, Second to None. Loved It.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast

Address: 347 West Pine Street, Mount Airy, NC 27030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Airy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled just minutes from many of North Carolina and the Yadkin Valley finest Wineries and the Blue Ridge Parkway in the heart of Historic Downtown Mount Airy or Mayberry as it is often referred. The inn is a fully restored Tudor Revival, which was originally built in 1932 for a prominent furniture factory owner. Elegant period décor, high ceilings, hardwood floors, private baths and a full gourmet breakfast help make your stay at the Sobotta Manor a memorable experience. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list