We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This stop SAVED OUR VISIT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wally's Service Station

Wally's Service Station
625 S. Main St., Mount Airy, NC 27030
336 786 6066
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
College Park, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“This stop SAVED OUR VISIT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

After finding the Old Courthouse no longer housed the "roadside attraction Jail" and that the A.G. Visitor's Museum was closed, we were SO HAPPY to find Wally's open, with a cool older gentleman available to chat, show us around, and even take us on the squad car drive.

The service station itself was closed but the Courthouse was open with jail cells, the desk and "sheriff/Justice of the Peace" sign and even the mirror complete with the ding from Barney's errant slingshot ding!

My seven year old pretended to break out (by stealing the key), talk on the old fashioned phone, and even posed as "sheriff Taylor." We love the show and found this spot to help us "go back in time...."

Other cool stuff here includes: Darlins' truck, Wally's tow truck, an old Coke cooler, a cracked cannon, and of course the patrol car! Other buildings were mocked up as different businesses on Main Street "Mayberry style." Granted I couldn't figure out exactly which season was being mimicked, but it was all classic fun. The squad car trip is worth it!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    22
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eustis, Florida
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great if you're a fan!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stop in and visit for a spell. If you're a fan of the Andy Griffith Show, and if you're in Mount Airy, you probably are, you have to check out the service station and adjoining buildings. All are reproductions from the show and have that classic charm. You can go into the service station and learn a lot about the show and area from the lovely lady there, then stroll over to the courthouse building and have a visit to Otis's specially appointed jail cell. Lots of nice picture opportunities and gift shop buying if you're into that as well. Snacks like old time candies and sodas can be purchased as well as a tour of "Mayberry" in a classic police car from the gift shop.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio, Usa
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A must see for Andy Griffith Show fans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We planned on going to the museum and looked at the map in front, which pointed-out Wally's. We went and expected something cheesy. Well, we spent a good two hours here! This was the actual gas station that existed before the show. There's plenty of memorabilia and items for sale, and the owners were more than happy to share stories about the history, the show, and what else to do and see in Mount Airy. They had the squad car and can give you a ride, the courthouse in which you can walk around and nothing is roped off, the Darlin's cabin and truck (more power to ya), and more. We just loved it, and bought a drawing of Mayberry that was signed and numbered that I will get framed. If you're in Mount Airy, I highly recommend you take the time to go to Wally's and downtown, it's well worth the trip.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheelersburg, Ohio
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Goober says Hey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Neat place to visit in Mount Airy. You not only can see the filling station, but also the courthouse, the Darlin's house and replica trucks. You can also take a squad car tour. The lady inside told us a lot about the Andy Griffith Show and there are a lot of souvenirs for sale. Neat place to stop by for pictures! A must stop if in Mt. Airy.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brodhead, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The woman that worked inside had a lot of information and fun facts on this town. We didn't take the "tour", but saw the police car pull up with visitors inside. Wasn't wonderful site seeing, but I loved the show and enjoyed our visit to Mayberry. I would recommend a stop in Mt. Airy for anyone interested.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wally's Service Station also viewed

 

Been to Wally's Service Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wally's Service Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.