We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mayflower Seafood of Mt. Airy, NC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayflower Seafood

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mayflower Seafood
139 Kodiak Ln, Mount Airy, NC 27030-5399
(336) 789-5065
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 79 Restaurants in Mount Airy
Restaurant details
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mayflower Seafood of Mt. Airy, NC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

The outside of the restaurant was not as modern or sharp as most, however, the food was fantastic, the service was very good and the portion sizes were enough for two meals.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milford, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“the best seafood i had in a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

The sweet tea is really good. We had the Smith's captain combo, whole lot of food! We can't find food like this back home in New Hampshire.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SEAFOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014 via mobile

Had the broiled seafood
platter $15.99, 2 types of fish,
shrimp,scallops,oysters,
hushpuppies,salad,baked
potato, all very good !!!
Wife had hamburger steak also
very good. Will go back !

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Around!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

This place has the best seafood around. I have always received top notch service, and great quality of food. The wait time is perfect as well considering the vast majority of the food has to be cooked to order.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I hate to say, I will never go back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

All I am going to say is, I would be embarrassed to present the plate of food to a customer that I received tonight. I ordered the large captains broiled seafood platter which cost $16.49............yes $16.49.........what I received was not even fit for an animal. I wish I had taken a picture of the plate so everyone could see what a ripoff this meal was. Also a side note, usually when you order broiled, it is cooked fresh.....not this time...apparently it had been sitting a while and everything had kind of shrinked up to little of nothing. We have 10 to 20 people a day ask us in our store where is a good place to eat in town.......rest assured, we will not be sending them here!!!

Everyone has a bad day, but in my opinion, you can tell a good, well run restaurant by how consistent it's food and customer service is over time, and this one seems to be going downhill quickly!

  • Visited October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayflower Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Mayflower Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayflower Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.