We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Prices & Great Food in Mayberry!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aunt Bea's

Aunt Bea's
452 N Andy Griffith Pkwy, Mount Airy, NC 27030-2519
336-789-3050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 75 Restaurants in Mount Airy
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Prices & Great Food in Mayberry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I love the Andy Griffith Show, so just the name is a draw for me. That being said, I have eaten here & next door at Libby Hill Seafood many times on trips in the past. We love them both, but I needed a change from seafood. I was amazed that the prices here are still as low as I remembered. Really-$4.99 for a small barbecue plate? That is what we got & they were yummy! We got pulled pork BBQ ( they have a choice of sauces), cole slaw, fries, & hushpuppies. Now, this is diner food. Aunt Bea's is not highbrow, just good homecooking. Everything was yummy. The hushpuppies were good! We had peach cobbler ($1.79) for dessert. It was delicious. We all left full and happy to travel home. The place is clean, bathrooms are clean, & the seating is all booths. Mostly locals were here for Sunday dinner, if that tells you anything. There are lots of choices besides barbecue on the menu (you order at the the counter) & everyone will find something they love! Give it a try!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fathers day lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Went here with my step son and wife on Fathers day for lunch. The BBQ was good. It has been better here but it was still good. We all enjoyed the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Would not be my first choice next time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Not bad, but very average small town grill food. Nothing special at all and for this area very small fries and burgers for the money. Lots of better BBQ in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This is Carolina BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Right off the interstate at the Mount Airy exit is Aunt Bea's BBQ and Breakfast. I would assume their breakfast is great, but I do know that their Carolina pulled pork and 'thin' sauce is what I consider Carolina BBQ. Don't miss the chance if you are in the area at mealtime...apparently Breakfast, as well!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our meal was okay, nothing great, nothing bad. Some of the meat was a little tough and the coleslaw was unique. Staff was not very attentive when needing to open another till and no one was keeping the ice machine filled. An okay experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aunt Bea's also viewed

 

Been to Aunt Bea's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aunt Bea's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.