We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Mount Airy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Mount Airy to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1293 Newsome Street, Mount Airy, NC 27030 (Formerly Royal Suites Mount Airy)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
Beaver, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

A very good motel, clean quiet and well lit. Room was clean and very welcoming. check-in as quick and easy . Was towing a motorcycle and lady at desk suggested where to park, so their security camera could watch it allnight, really appreciated that. Breakfast was very good . Special mention of the new bed pillows, a choice of hard or soft pillows. Wish ALL divisions of CHOICE HOTELS would do this, would not have to carry my own pillows. This motel is well worth the money and don't miss the restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry P, Manager at Comfort Inn Mount Airy, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for taking time to let us know about your current stay at Comfort Inn located in Mount Airy, NC. Our goal is to provide clean , comfortable and welcoming place for our travelers. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    28
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
41
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights and had a great experience overall.The pool was nice, breakfast was good/typical, and the bedding was fantastic. Initially the hall on the upper level was cold, but I fixed that by turning on the heaters. The one negative to our stay was due to the cleaning/maid service. One morning we headed out at about 10:30- the cleaning crew had checked to see if we were done so they could clean....asked them for 15 more minutes. Response was they'd check back. So after a wonderful day out and about (and a delicious dinner) we returned to find the beds unmade, trash unemptied, and all the dirty towels/wash cloths where we had left them. A call to the front desk did not resolve the situation as the cleaning staff was not there. So I gathered up the towels and the trash and went downstairs and left them at the counter while I waited for fresh clean one. This was not what I expected upon my return after a busy day. There needs to be a method of ensuring that all rooms were cleaned before the help leaves for the day. Oh and a towel that got pushed under the sink stayed there for 2 days until I finally removed it. This is such a nice hotel and the experience overall was good.....with maid service improvement I'd give it a 4-5 star. Management was apologetic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
82 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights while visiting family and we were happy. For the price, there is a heated pool, exercise room, comfy beds, and very clean. The staff is extremely polite and helpful. They do have a breakfast buffet, with eggs, sausage, gravy & bisquits, breads, cereal, oatmeal, fruit and waffles with more choices. We ate here in the morning once only because the food was not hot. It was just barely warm. I mentioned it to the front desk but it was the same the next am. No problem because there are tons of resturants all around. If you stay here, you need to go to mayberry and shop in the gift stores and we even saw andy griffths birthplace which we would never have found if not for the staff. All in all it would have been perfect with the breakfast hot but I would take clean and comfy anyday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Comfort Inn for two nights while doing the Andy Griffith thing in Mount Airy. We often stay at Choice Hotels properties and this is among the nicest we have seen. Apparently it was recently remodeled and everything is new including the linens and towels. The breakfast was much better than average with good coffee and a variety of breakfast food including sausage and pre-cooked egg product. The staff was attentive and the place was clean. Within a 100 yard walk across the street is a very good Mexican restaurant where we ate both nights. The hotel is off the Andy Griffith Parkway, but the sign is back off the road, so be careful not to pass it by and have turn around like we did.

Room Tip: We stayed on the back side and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goode, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I was looking for a good deal but yet get a nice place to stay as well. Had not been to Mt. Airy before so was not familiar with the area. I was pleasantly pleased to find the king room with sofa, refrigerator, and microwave with new fixtures around. The breakfast was nice with choice of 3 cereals, eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy, belgian waffle maker with choice of plain or flavored (blueberry) waffle mix, 3 fresh fruits, and then the usual breads and pastries, 2 juices and milk along with coffee. The staff was helpful too. When I called to make the reservations, I asked what rate I was getting as I had researched on the internet and knew they honored AAA or offered a senior rate. He said it was the "best available", so I told him I wanted AAA (only about $5 difference, but hey) so he told me to show the card when I arrived. I did and the desk clerk honored what he had said (I had his name so that helped). Pool looked very nice and clean although I did not use it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great hotel! All staff members were exceptionally friendly, and our room very nice, clean, and quiet. Breakfast was good, as well. The bedding was fantastically comfortable!! We will be staying here when in the area again. Highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheelersburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
251 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very nice hotel! Staff was very friendly and helpful, and the room met our expectations. The hotel is located a few minutes from the Mount Airy attractions and is right off the Andy Griffith Parkway. The hotel area was nice and clean and the breakfast was good as well. When back in the area, we plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 7 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
8.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
#2 of 7 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn, Mount Airy
Quality Inn, Mount Airy
#5 of 7 in Mount Airy
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
14.4 mi away
Country View Inn
Country View Inn
#1 of 2 in Fancy Gap
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Mount Airy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Mount Airy

Address: 1293 Newsome Street, Mount Airy, NC 27030 (Formerly Royal Suites Mount Airy)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Mount Airy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Mount Airy 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOT BREAKFAST BAR, FITNESS CENTER, INDOOR SWIMMING POOL, SMOKE FREE INDOOR HOTEL, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Mount Airy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Suites Mount Airy Hotel Mount Airy
Microtel Mount Airy
Mount Airy Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Mount Airy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.