We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rib Smacking Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 13 Bones

13 Bones
502 S Andy Griffith Pkwy, Mount Airy, NC 27030-4028
336-786-1313
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 75 Restaurants in Mount Airy
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Florence, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rib Smacking Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

My parents and I were in town for the Autumn Leaves Festival in October and didn't get a chance to eat here because they were so busy. My cousin and I came back to Mt. Airy this weekend to check out the leaves and I told her we must eat at 13 Bones! We are go glad we did because the ribs were GREAT and so tender the meat fell right off the bone. Our waitress Denise was amazing and we had so much fun cutting up with her! We met one of the owners and all the staff were very friendly! Sure wish we had a restaurant like this at home!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    49
    17
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

On a recent trip to Mt. Airy, NC we took a friend to this restaurant. It was a really good experience. The parking lot was full, even though it was fairly early (around 5:30) -- always a good sign! The menu had lots of great options. The server was very pleasant and competent. They willingly allowed my husband and me to share a filet steak (although their version of medium well was a little over done!). The three of us shared a dessert -- and apple crisp with ice cream which was delicious … more than the 3 of us could finish! I would go here again -- it was really good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tender ribs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We went for dinner on a Saturday evening around 7:30 and had about a 20-30 minute wait. My husband and I split a rack of ribs and I ordered the homemade potato chips with ranch dressing. They weren't the best and they would have been better if they had been served hot, they were barely warm when we got them at the table. The ribs were very tender and the salads were good and crisp. Our server was Monica and she was very efficient.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, VA, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Local Steak House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Recommended by the Mayberry Motor Inn - this was truly another great find in Mt Airy, NC. We were in town for the Autumn Fest and had dinner at 13 Bones every night. Great Service and terrific food. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fries, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great waitress terrible food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Tried 13 Bones because the rating was pretty good. Both my wife and I ordered flounder/shrimp combo. Shrimp was not bad however the flounder was the driest fish that we have ever ordered. (Skin so tough I had to cut with a knife). Waitress was very friendly and did her job well. On a good note; the coffee was great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 13 Bones also viewed

 

Been to 13 Bones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 13 Bones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.