We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1320 EMS Drive, Mount Airy, NC 27030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean & comfortable. Shower worked well, but bath sink hot water took a long time. WiFi was OK.
The indoor pool was clean & warm. The breakfast was uninspiring, just basic fare. The location was safe & convenient to get to other nearby destinations.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to let us know about your most current experience at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Mount Airy, North Carolina. Our goal is to meet your needs from a clean comfortable room to friendly staff and I can see we did that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    62
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
82
88
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Willow Spring, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I visiting Pilot Mountain stayed here instead of one of the B&B's right by the park. Though it is Pet friendly which is usually a turnoff for us. You couldn't tell it. It is also one of the newest hotels in the area which makes it great as well. I am very picky when it comes to a clean place since I run a cleaning service. But I give this hotel 4.75 stars. A couple small things caught my eye. Shower was a little dusty on the front ledge by the doors and the pool area had a few small things on the pebble surround which you wouldn't notice unless at eye level. But sheets and room were VERY clean. And the front desk ladies were great. Also food was very good at the breakfast bar.
We would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to let us know about your most current experience at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Mount Airy, North Carolina. Our goal is to meet your needs from a clean comfortable room to friendly staff and I can see we did that.

Thanks for the wonderful recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Front desk very friendly and breakfast the next morning was great. The main attraction was "Shirley" who ran the complimentary wine bar. She was entertaining, informative, and her enthusiasm for life was most impressive. I recently moved to North Carolina and my three high school girl friends came here to visit me. It was a great start to our NC travels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
I don’t know what to say but thank you for the wonderful words about our hotel. We take great pride in our hotel and staff and are strive to make everyone’s stay a pleasant one and I can see we met all those goals with you. I will pass on your comments to Shirley.

I am so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the local wine selection we use during our Manager’s Reception Monday thru Thursday.
.
Thanks for the wonderful recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratt
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Absolutely a fantastic Holiday Inn Express, from check in to check out. Location is fantastic, close to eating establishments and filling stations. Our room (suite) was HUGE! We had a hot tub, 2 lovely chairs that faced a faux fireplace (loved the atmosphere) and a very comfortable king size bed. We have been on the road for 2 weeks and this was the best hotel we have stayed at in a long time. The beverage and snack reception was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor as the elevator can take awhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
I don’t know what to say but thank you for the wonderful words about our hotel. We take great pride in our hotel and staff and are strive to make everyone’s stay a pleasant one and I can see we met all those goals with you. From the sound of your comments you really enjoyed our feature suite that includes a hot tub and fireplace.

I am so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the local wine selection we use during our Manager’s Reception Monday thru Thursday.
.
Thanks for the wonderful recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Had a great one night stay on November, 9, 2013. It is pet friendly and that makes it awesome for us. We responsible pet owners need a nice, normal hotel and this one delivered. Polite staff, clean rooms and a reasonable price. No complaints here!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to let us know about your most current experience at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Mount Airy, North Carolina. Our goal is to meet your needs from a clean comfortable room to friendly staff and I can see we did that.

Plus, dogs are welcome too! I am glad you liked the dog area. When you are in a different town and do not know the area, it is welcome to have a well-lit, safe area to walk your dog.

I hope to see you in the future if your travels take you back to the Mount Airy area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

What a great hotel! The employees were amazing; they were very friendly and knowledgeable. The front desk staff were great!
Our room was very clean with lovely décor. Our bed was very comfortable.
We loved our wine and cheese reception when we arrived; Shirley is a gem!
Thank You Mount Airy, North Carolina. From your friends to the North.
Muskoka, ON, Canada

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
I don’t know what to say but thank you for the wonderful words about our hotel. We take great pride in our hotel and staff and are strive to make everyone’s stay a pleasant one and I can see we met all those goals with you. I will pass on your comments to Shirley.

I am so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the local wine selection we use during our Manager’s Reception Monday thru Thursday.
.
Thanks for the wonderful recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great staff who were helpful. Wine and cheese reception Mon - Thursday. One of the better hot breakfasts on the circuit. Rooms large and well decorated and furnished. Refrigerator and A/C noisy. We spent 2 nights along with other family members in 2 more rooms. We all felt the hotel was a bargain. Many restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to let us know about your most current experience at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Mount Airy, North Carolina. Our goal is to meet your needs with a clean, comfortable room and friendly staff, and from your comments we achieve all our goals.

Hope to see you again if you travel takes you back to the Mount Airy area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South

Address: 1320 EMS Drive, Mount Airy, NC 27030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mount Airy
#3 Family Hotel in Mount Airy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mount Airy South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.