We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room, Go to Depot in Dobson for Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1320 EMS Drive, Mount Airy, NC 27030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Mount Airy
Kaiserslautern
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Room, Go to Depot in Dobson for Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were visiting Mt Airy on the way to another location. The property is probably less than five years old. Carolyn was the Desk Clerk at night and was an excellent hostess. The room was great and WIFI signal strong. During the week they have a hospitality hour with local wine, beer and snacks. The hostess for the hospitality hour recommended The Depot restaurant in Dobson for dinner. It is about a ten minute drive. The Depot is a remarkable restaurant and property that we thoroughly enjoyed. Their website is www.codycreek.net . Lisa was out waitress and was a joy. Also, if you have time, go on the Cruise Mayberry police car tour whose website is www.tourmayberry.com . Mount Airy is a great place to stop for a day enroute.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent visit to our Holiday Inn Express in Mount Airy, North Carolina. Yes, you are correct that the hotel is less than five years old. We actually opened December 30, 2010.

I am so happy that Carolyn exceeded your expectations when you checked in and throughout the night and stopped by our manager’s reception.

You are so correct that The Depot Restaurant is an excellent place for dinning.

If your travel needs take you through the Mount Airy, North Carolina in the near future, I hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    56
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
75
85
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I recently took a 10 day trip to visit several states. On the way home we decide to stop in Mayberry (Mount Airy) to pay our respect to the late Andy Griffith. I found out that there was a new Holiday Inn in the area and called to see if they had availability. They did so we went on over.
The front desk clerk was very friendly and the check-in process went smoothly and fast. There are four floors at this hotel and we stayed on the 4th. I must say, it was kind of bothersome that there was only one elevator. It was a problem when everyone was checking out the next morning.
Besides this, it was perfect. When we opened the door to our room I said, "Wow ... look at the size of this room!" My husband said, "This is the best room that we have had the whole 10 days we have been on the road."
Like I said, it is new and you can tell it.
The beds were comfy and just right for us. We had two queen beds.
Also, there is a breakfast the next morning that we enjoyed.
I would definitely visit this cute little town again and I would most definitely stay at this Holiday Inn. I have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your most recent visit to our Holiday Inn Express in Mount Airy, North Carolina and you had the chance to pay your respects for the family of Andy Griffith. It is truly a tough time for all of us in Mount Airy.

I am so happy that our front desk staff was able to exceed your expectations and your comment regarding the size of your room. We get many comments from our guests on the comfort of our beds.

The elevator can be slow at times during peak times during check-in and check-out times. I am truly sorry that you had to experience it.

Finally I am so happy that you have recommended us to your friends and I hope to see you again if your future travels take you through Mount Airy, North Carolina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express 1 night on our way to TN. We found our room clean and in perfect order. The beds were comfortable (we had a two queen bed room). The location is good with many restaurants close by.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comment for your stay at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Mt. Airy, NC. There is nothing any nicer than having a wonderful nights sleep while traveling. We hope you enjoyed the nearby restaurants and the easy access on and off the interstate. We look forward to seeing you again as you travel thru our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Spotless - both the room and common areas! Bed was comfortable, bathroom great, and breakfast was excellent, both in quality and variety. LOTS of conveniently-located plugs to charge your electronics. Wi-Fi was free, worked great, and was reasonably fast. The only thing that would make the hotel better would be if it had a restaurant and bar in the hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our hotel. I hope you enjoyed your stay while you were in Mount Airy. You are correct that we made sure that we have enough plug in areas in each guest room for everyones electronics.

Regarding your comment about a restaurant and bar in the hotel. The franchisor (Intercontinental Hotels Group) does not allow a restarurant or bar in a Holiday Inn Express Hotel.

Again thank you for your excellent comments and hope to see you soon if your traveles take you through Mount Airy, North Carolina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Ohio
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Check-In was smooth and quick even though they were very busy at the front desk. The room was nice when we walked in but we found several issues with our room during our stay: There was a hair in the sheets and a hair on one of the towels, the toilet seat would not stay up, and there was a lot of noise coming from the floor above us throughout the night. We visited the pool in the evening and there were several kids running around and jumping/diving in the pool. (This is due to lack of parent supervision, not the hotel's fault.)
Perhaps if all the housekeepers would wear some sort of hair net, the hairs issue would go away. Also, the toilet seat could be easily replaced. If I stay here again in the future and these issues are corrected, I'll revise my rating. I would suggest requesting a top floor room to avoid noise issues from above.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor to avoid noise from the room above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
I would like to thank you for your comments and suggestions. Regarding the cleaning issues I have addresses with my housekeeping staff. We do a monthly preventive maintenance program throughout the hotel guest rooms and I have discussed with our maintenance staff to pay close attention to the commode seats.

I understand your comment regarding hearing footsteps above your room. At times it is very hard to control this. Some guest walk soft across floor and some just stump across the floor. They may not realize they are walking hard but it just happens.

I do hope you give us another try if you are through the Mount Airy, NC area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel was clean, quiet and in a great location. Had hot coffee and tea all night in the breakfast area. The breakfast was amazing for a hotel, sooooo many choices of food to eat. Would definitely choose this hotel again if in that area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for the wondeful comment regarding our hotel. You are right that the Holiday Inn Express breakfast has so many amazing choices to offer for breakfast.

I do hope to see you in the near future if your travels take you through Mount Airy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Very helpful staff. Large parking lot. Clean comfortable rooms. Manager reception during weeknights was pleasant surprise offering beer, wine or soft drinks. However, pretzels with dip was a little skimpy. The breakfast consisted of toast, bagels, ham, sweet rolls, muffins, orange juice and coffee. A word of advice though, avoid the Mexican omelet...yuk!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South

Address: 1320 EMS Drive, Mount Airy, NC 27030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mount Airy
#2 Family Hotel in Mount Airy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mount Airy South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.