We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Snappy Lunch

Snappy Lunch
125 North Main Street, Mount Airy, NC 27030
(336) 786-4931
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 75 Restaurants in Mount Airy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The pork chop sandwich is great! The meat is always very tender and the sandwich is huge. Make sure you get it with the works (chili, slaw, etc).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    78
    28
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pilot Mountain, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Eating at a historican Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is the place Andy Griffith talkes about in his TV show. Everyone goes there for their pork chop sandwiches. Who can also see pictures of famous people who have eaten there. Opra has eater here.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I had read about Snappy Lunch and wanted to go visit Mt. Airy so made a side trip to visit. Although not a huge fan of the Andy Griffith show, it was fun to visit where he grew up. We had quick service and it extremely affordable. We both ordered the pork chop sandwich which was good but not as great as the reviews had indicated. I overheard our server tell someone that the owner had recently died and that might be the reason that the quality was not what we expected. But, it was still fun to have lunch there and explore Mt. Airy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensboro, nc
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not what I expected.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Wife and I visited on Veteran's Day to experience the famour pork chop sandwich! We were disappointed somewhat. The sandwich had little if any taste. The slaw was sweet which I do not like-prefer a vinegar based slaw.

I think the pork needed a thicker batter coating before cooking. Oh well, maybe we will try it again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelby,nc
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy food and nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

It is hard to get into this place but well worth the wait. All sandwiches are hand made. I love the breaded hamburger or cheeseburger. It has all the meat and is breaded to take away some of the grease that a burger has. The pork chop sandwich is huge. I love to ear here when I'm in Mt Airy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snappy Lunch also viewed

 
Mount Airy, NC
Mount Airy, NC
 

Been to Snappy Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snappy Lunch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.