We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Accessible” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pilot Mountain

Pilot Mountain
Mount Airy, NC
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Great views of the countryside may be enjoyed from the summit.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very Accessible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Pilot Mountain is very accessible, so getting around isn't tough at all. It's definitely worth a visit and the nice thing is that everyone can go. The views are really nice and there was a wonderful breeze while we were there. I check it out every time I'm in the area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    39
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Airy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Grassy Ridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Fun 3.4 mile walk/trot scenary. The weather was crisp and cool, nothing better than to work up a sweat. Well marked trails and lovely views all around. Will visit again.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“nice views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The views are incredible! We met a guy who watches birds so it was interesting to learn about the different types of birds you can see.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had some extra time while in the area, so we decided to drive up to the summit of Pilot Mountain. We were so glad that we did. There were several observation areas and trails. It was well kept and the area was beautiful.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“stunning views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We lucked out and had a very clear day and the views were really stunning. There are several look out points and hiking paths. Nice park although we didn't see all of it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pilot Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pilot Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.