We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Fancy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barney's Restaurant - CLOSED

Barney's Restaurant
206 N. Main Street, Mount Airy, NC 27030
336-786-8305
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nothing Fancy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stopped in here for lunch and I had vegetable soup and salad. The soup tasted homemade and the salad was standard iceberg with tomatoes, cheese and cucumbers. It was all reasonably priced and service was good. We got a piece of chocolate pie to go and it was good as well.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    32
    16
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, Nc
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stopped here to eat since the restaurant we really wanted lunch at had already closed for the day. My husband had a burger, it was good and I had the veggie plate. LOL ~ only in the south is macaroni and cheese considered a vegetable. Enjoyed it though. Service was super fast.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Downhome good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The service was great and the food was good. Many locals filled the diner. The chicken pot pie was homemade as was the chicken fried steak. The price was just right too!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Only So-So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We went here just to say that we did. The food was okay but nothing great. The prices were reasonable but no credit cards are accepted. The service was only okay. We are glad that we tried it, but probably would not go again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We recently attended the Mayberry Days celebration in Mt. Airy, when thousands of visitors descend upon the small town of Mt. Airy, NC. Restaurants are packed and you wonder if you will get a poor meal or so-so service. Neither was the case at Barney's Cafe (the official name). We have eaten here on a couple of other occasions and it's our daughter's favorite spot, so we entered in on a Saturday afternoon around 2:00. We figured that way we would avoid the traditional lunch lines. The restaurant was full and there were a few people ahead of us, but we were seated within 10 minutes. Our daughter ordered the hamburg steak plate, which comes with fries, coleslaw and Texas toast. I had a cheeseburger with lettuce and tomato, accompanied by chips and a pickle, and my husband decided on a grilled bologna sandwich, also with chips. We ordered a basket of onion rings, as well. We were amazed at how quickly our food was served and the efficiency of the staff. We had our meals in about 10 minutes and the waitresses were smiling, friendly and available for any need we might have. The food is very basic, but that's what they do and they do it very well! The hamburgers are outstanding with a very nice flavor. The onion rings were excellent. The prices are very reasonable and you won't leave hungry. They have a variety of nice-looking desserts but we have always been too full to give them a try! We will continue to make Barney's Cafe a regular spot whenever we are in the Mt. Airy area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barney's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barney's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.