We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot and Fresh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Corral

Golden Corral
2226 Rockford Street, Mount Airy, NC 27030
(336) 786-1400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 75 Restaurants in Mount Airy
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
Cherokee, North Carolina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Hot and Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Always a crowd here as the assortment of choices is extensive on their all-you-can-eat buffet. I was surprised at how un-crowded it ws inside compared to the vehicles filling the parking lot. It's an easy entrance from the main highway. The staff was friendly, smiling non-stop and making tracks to serve every patron. One of the best Golden Corral locations.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt Airy NC
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Special Menu Done Better than Right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

For the next three weekends, you can enjoy a menu that is not only first class but is done better than the average steak house chain. I'm talking about prime rib...cut thick and done to perfection. Ask for medium rare and the grill guy steps back, cuts yours and brings it to the front. He dips it in Au Jus and places it on your plate. For those that like it "done" which I can only imagine why and its served right on the line. In front is a choice of either horseradish or horseradish sauce. Salivate. I topped mine with butterflied shrimp, hot and crisp. On the side I put a beautiful catfish fried in light corn meal and flour mixture. This time, it was meat first and then a fruit salad with ripe melon, strawberries and cold shrimp with the house seafood salad as a combination. Skipping all veggies, I headed for dessert of banana cream pudding and a bowl of orange sherbet. Stuffed to the point of contentment, I left happy. Also, the waitress did keep up with clearing the dishes and keeping the drinks topped off. She was a positive enhancement to the experience. Get there soon for this special.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Buffet food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Golden corral is one of our favorite places when we are in the mood for a good buffet...they never disappoint and we love there bread selection...staff is always friendly and attentive...place is kept clean...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ararat, Virginia
1 review
“will never return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

told the manager that the restroom needed attention she went in and picked up but the toilets were still a mess. Someone had did #2 and it was everywhere and when I left it was still a mess about an hour later. If the manager has no more morals than that why is she playing the roll as someone we look up to and give tips to how to make your visit more pleasurable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Mmmm good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Went there last night June 28, 2013. The baby back ribs, hot wings and pot roast was really good. The service was really good. Banana pudding was good. Mmm

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Corral also viewed

 

Been to Golden Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Corral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.