We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing "soul" food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taipei Cafe

Taipei Cafe
9825 G Chapel Hill Road, Morrisville, NC
(919) 380-8568
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 128 Restaurants in Morrisville
Cuisines: Taiwanese
Restaurant details
Cary, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Amazing "soul" food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I usually get the homestyle tofu and it is by far one of my favorite meals! Everything is made fresh authentically and the owners are very hospitable and friendly! I feel they put there love of food and soul into it and everything I've tried so far has been amazing :) Glad to see them doing so well and look forward to many more delicious satisfying meals. Thank you! :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Glad we gave it a shot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I am glad my wife an i tried this place. We were lucky to get a table - the place was packed and we were the only ones in there not Asian. I found it humorous they asked my wife if she wanted her dish cooked American style or real Chinese style. We went with Chinese style and were glad we did. I travel to China a few times a year and have to say this is as good as any experience i have had in China. Strongly recommend the place and better if you have a bigger group so you can try multiple items and eat family style. Wish they had a half a Peking Duck option on the menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best Chinese food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Chef Pao is from Taiwan and really knows how to cook all sorts of wonderful Chinese dishes. This is real, traditional Chinese cooking, not the Americanized versions that so many others have. See for yourself, it is usually full of local Chinese customers. It is a small hole-in-the wall place, but they have great service and reasonable prices for both dine-in and carry-out. We love to go to the Taipei Cafe, and we are lucky to have them close by in Morrisville.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
“GREAT Peking Duck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was looking for a restaurant near me in Cary that had great Peking Duck. I saw a review on Yelp that was good, so I gave this place a try. I have had Peking Duck at restaurants around the world including Tokyo, New York City's Chinatown, and Ghana (funny, I have never been to China). This little cafe has Peking Duck that is as good as it gets! I ordered Peking Duck, house fried rice, and vegetable delight and every dish was AMAZING!!! Peking Duck is my favorite dish and I normally only have it about every six months, because it is difficult to find. I have mixed emotions now I know that there is a restaurant literally around the corner that has my favorite dish, because I WILL BE THERE OFTEN!!! Oh well, I will just have to go running more to balance eating this OUTSTANDING food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Everything tasted like old oil”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

My wife and I are new to the area and were looking for good take-out. After reading the reviews we decided on the Taipei Cafe. We were both very disappointed in our meals. From the spring rolls to the general Tso's chicken, all we could taste was the oil it was cooked in. It tasted old and completely overpowered the flavor of the food. We will definitely not be returning.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taipei Cafe also viewed

Morrisville, NC
Morrisville, NC
 

Been to Taipei Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taipei Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.