We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A park and fly hotel, pretty much it.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn by Wyndham Raleigh Durham Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn by Wyndham Raleigh Durham Airport to your Saves list
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Raleigh Durham Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   104 Factory Shops Road, Morrisville, NC 27560-8402   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Morrisville
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A park and fly hotel, pretty much it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here for one night this past week before flying from RDU. I would rate this hotel at the lower end of acceptable for a 2 star hotel. The hotel has signs of wear and tear, but the room seemed to be clean. Both my spouse and myself felt a bit claustrophobic in our room, it was small yet adequate. This is by no means the nicest Microtel I have ever stayed in. The staff was adequate, neither rude nor overly friendly.

Pros:
It was the cheapest park and fly option around RDU
The hotel is a 5 minute ride from the airport terminal.
They had a continental breakfast.
Seemed like a safe neighborhood
Cuban restaurant was next door and Wendy's was across the street.

Cons:
The walls are thin. We were on the second floor and were awaken by 2 men having a conversation in the parking lot at 3:00 AM. Sounded like they were in our room.

For some reason, they have the ash trays inside the stairwells. Its not for smoking, but so people can get rid of their cigarette buds as they enter the building. However, the stairwells smell of smoke. As non-smoker, this seems asinine.

The room and TV were small, no mini-fridge in our room. Literally, a bed in room.

Overall, if you need a cheap, clean Park and Ride option near RDU, then I could recommend staying here for 1 night, albeit I would ask for a 2nd or 3rd floor room away from the stairs. This is a no-frills kind of stop. If you need a place for more than 1 night, I would look somewhere else. If you are accustomed to staying in nicer hotels, look somewhere else. If other park and ride options are similarly price when you are looking, stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floor, away from the elevator and stairwells. This should minimize c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    80
    89
    37
    37
See reviews for
93
56
57
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We looked around for a bargain near RDU where we could stay the night and leave our car for the duration of our trip. We selected the Microtel's Park and Fly deal and were happy with the choice for its convenience, cleanliness, and price. The room was tiny, but clean, and for one night it worked out fine. The front desk staff was accommodating and helpful. Breakfast was adequate and starts at 5 AM along with the complimentary airport shuttle. For $85 a night you can leave your car as long as you like, so it is truly a price performer. When we arrived back, they responded quickly and picked us up within 10 minutes of our arrival. We'll do this again next month!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Virginia, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We booked the room the night before we had to fly our of the Raleigh airport. We were greeted by couteous staff, our room was VERY clean, it was a little on the small side (I guess that's why it's called a Microtel), they offer free shuttle to the airport & the driver was waiting for us the next morning, the location is close to the airport, and the price was VERY reasonable. If I had to find something wrong it would be that you could hear planes flying overhead all night but that's not really anything that the hotel can control.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Maybe the cheapest, but still not worth it. My bed was really mushy. One plus was the Cuban restaurant right next door. Enjoyed my lunch there. But there are better hotels in the area. There is a plan for some sort of Asian center with shops and restaurants right across the street, but will not be completed until next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel every week for 7 weeks for work. My last stay was for 3 nights and when I returned home a few days later I noticed several bits on my arm, thought no big deal. The next day I woke to find that what was 8-10 bits now was 50 plus!!! I did some research only to discover that I had bed bug bits all over my upper body. I contacted the hotel to let them know and to my suprise the manager "Manny" was very defensive and very short with me. My first reason of my call was to notify them of the situation so they may resolve this issue so future guest might not experience this horrible situation that I had experienced. NO APOLOGY, NOTHING AT ALL!!!! That is all I hoped to hear. NOTHING!! I contacted the Wyndam office only to be notified that this was a franchise property. They contacted the owner "Nick" and it is now two weeks later. NOTHING! Not even a phone call. I have called the property and "NICK" the owner screens his calls. I guess it is time to take legal action. NICK is a joke! This hotel does not care about its guest. PLEASE DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel. You will be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelinnrdu, Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Raleigh Durham Airport, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
There were no bedbugs found at all in the room as the guest was upto getting free money back. For guests satisfaction the room was thoroughly inspected by health dept officer and we have the report on record. Even the officer was surprised to see that there are people who can cause unnecessary problems for hotels.
Not only that as a proof the room was rented to 15 different guests in a row since the guest checked out and we never even received a single complain of any sort.
Please do not believe,its not true at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Microtel has simple, small, plain rooms for a cheap price. Don't expect anything special or pretty. My room was clean and safe and had everything that one would expect from an inexpensive hotel. It is very convenient to the airport. However, that does make it loud, as one hears every plane that goes over. Planes seem to take off until 11:30 pm and resume around 6 am. So if you'd like to sleep longer than that, consider staying elsewhere. I stayed here before an early am flight and it worked out fine. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelinnrdu, General Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Raleigh Durham Airport, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Valued guest
We kindly appreciate your business and reviews. Your comments helps us to serve you better.
We welcome you for your future stay,
Thank you
Manny.K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christiansburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Would not stay here again! Front desk check in was civil to us but so rude to the next couple checking in not friendly at all!!!! The room was VERY small, ac/heating unit falling apart. Something on the back of the wall of the toliet.......leave this to you to figure out. This hotel needs alot of work as does the front desk pertaining to customer service!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn by Wyndham Raleigh Durham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn by Wyndham Raleigh Durham Airport

Address: 104 Factory Shops Road, Morrisville, NC 27560-8402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Morrisville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Morrisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn by Wyndham Raleigh Durham Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in Morrisville,NC by the RDU Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn by Wyndham Raleigh Durham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Raleigh Durham Airport Hotel Morrisville
Microtel Raleigh Durham Airport
Microtel Morrisville
Morrisville Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn by Wyndham Raleigh Durham Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.