We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great price, great people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smokey's BBQ Shack

Smokey's BBQ Shack
10800 Chapel Hill Rd, Morrisville, NC 27560-8850
919-469-1724
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 128 Restaurants in Morrisville
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food, great price, great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Been going to this place for years and it still remains one of my favorite places to eat in the area. The BBQ has an amazing flavor and it's even better with their homemade sauce. If you are looking a fine dining place, this isn't for you. If you are looking good NC food, this is the place for you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    26
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“falling off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This used to be my favorite bbq place and I ate there at least 1/month, but the past 3 times I've been in the head guy (Kevin) hasn't been there. The food has fallen in quality.
Once the kitchen staff had their Bojangles chicken lunch spread all over a dining room table and it stayed their for my entire visit.
Wish they'd return to their delicous BBQ, but doubt I will visit again to see if they do.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great NC BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I've been going to Smokeys for years and consider it one of the best local BBQ houses - and beats "The Pit" seven days a week. I bring all out of town guests here for lunch (unless they're vegan) and they've also catered lunches at my office. Can't go wrong at Smokeys - get there early to beat the noon rush.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Smokey's BBQ shack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great service! Great food! The big guy behind the counter is especially friendly. You can ask for gluten free options and they will change gloves if you ask. Food was very southern BBQ. Small place with lots of southern humor. Only thing is they close promptly at 2pm. Lunch only.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Love the down home atmosphere with a bit o Craic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

food is unbelievable and cooked to perfection. Open for lunch 7 days a week and dinner Wednesday- Saturday. I have 2 favorites here but with that said i have eaten it all and will order the meat sampler when i can not choose. Back to my favorites now... Brisket and Ribs with the spicy BBQ sauce and i always get the mixed greens with the house cut fries.

Tell the big guy a good story at the cash register and you have a friend for life... act like a moron and he may tell you to go somewhere else!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokey's BBQ Shack also viewed

 

Been to Smokey's BBQ Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokey's BBQ Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.