We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay as nice as the first” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cambria Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cambria Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport to your Saves list
Cambria Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Airgate Drive, Morrisville, NC 27560-8492   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Morrisville
Daphne, Alabama
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Second stay as nice as the first”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I had stayed and reviewed this hotel a few years ago, not long after it opened. This trip I was with a friend to attend the Eagles concert at the PNC Center and wanted something near the airport, convenient to the concert venue and close to restaurants and shopping. Cambria fit all of those bills.

The place is not easy to find for those unfamiliar with the area, but after staying there previously and having family in Morrisville and Cary, I had no problem finding it and everything was as great as the last time. The rooms are massive, with separate sleeping and living quarters, including two flat screen TVs in every room. There is a large desk with free high speed internet and a closet to hang clothes. The bathroom is large and has a curved shower curtain rod to add space to the shower.

Check-in was handled very quickly and efficiently. There was a problem with the room key cards not opening the door and a housekeeper who passed us in the hall even tried her master key without success, so we had to go back to the desk and request a new key, which worked after several tries. They sent a maintenance person to reprogram the lock, however we continued to have problems with the key and card every time we returned to the room. The mechanism needs to be replaced on that door.

We were able to sleep very well without any noise from the nearby airport and total darkness with the drapes closed. Because of the separation between the areas, I was able to wake up and get onto the computer while my date slept late without being disturbed by me using the computer.

The final morning, we ate the breakfast in the small on-site restaurant and found it to be very good and convenient. I felt it was a little over-priced at $9.99/person, but since we were in a rush to catch a flight, it more than satisfied and the quality and selection were excellent.

Overall, this is still my preferred place to stay in the Raleigh-Durham area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard W, General Manager at Cambria Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We are so happy we could be of service to you a second time!

Thank you for coming back to the Cambria Suites when you returned to the Raleigh / Durham area. We truly appreciate your business and the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    61
    20
    4
    13
See reviews for
84
70
48
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My stay was not the best but not the worst. I had high expectations due to the high price. and one of the newest hotel in the area. Room was clean and neat. I had 2 issues;

1. could not adjust the room temp. to my comfort. Woke up many times because it got hot and when I turn it down couple of degrees it wouldn't turn on and room would get cold.
2. Was not notified that breakfast was not included and when I went down stairs, halfway done with eating I get a server giving me a bill. I think the staff should have warned guest's at check-in and also server's should warn guest's the moment they come in the breakfast area, instead of halfway into the breakfast.

I don't think I will be staying here if I had to spend over $100 and not get breakfast included.

Room Tip: 1. Stay on the lower level due to planes flying over. 2. Skip the breakfast. Not worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard W, General Manager at Cambria Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We are glad you found your suite to be clean, neet, and ready for you when you arrived. For some reason we have had a couple of issues with the HVAC wall controllers losing their programming and remaining either always on or always off. I think we have that issue solved now. We are sorry if you were uncomfortable because of it though.

Cambria does offer a large breakfast buffet, much more that a typical select service hotel, which is why there is a cost. That puts in line with the other brands, such as Courtyard and Hilton Garden Inn which do as well. Certainly it was never our intent to catch someone by surprise, so we apologize as we might have communticated it better.

Even being an airport property, most of our guests report that the rarely ever hear the airplanes at RDU, and the airport doesn't operate all night either. Selecting a lower level room is an execellent suggestion though for guests that may be sensitive to it.

We hope to be of service to you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay - albeit for one night. This hotel is very nice and my room was really comfortable and clean. Though my room was on 4th floor, and I was concerned that the sound of airplanes taking off will ruin my sleep - it wasn't the case to be. I slept like a baby.
It is in close proximity to RDU airport and local restaurants. I opted for breakfast buffet in the morning. There were a variety of options to choose from - bacon, omelette, fruits, gits, fried diced potatoes etc.
I'm a vegetarian who doesn’t even eat eggs. The server on buffet duty was kind and considerate enough to ask me if she could get pancakes for me instead. Employees are the assets that make or break an organization. This place seems to have employed great people. I'd definitely come back here for the hospitality, and the service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard W, General Manager at Cambria Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We are really happy to have been of service to you, and glad you enjoyed the experience!

Being close to the airport you might think that noise would be a problem. For the great majority of our guests, their experience is very much the same as yours.... A Great Nights Sleep!

You are absolutely right too that our Associates make all the difference. Recently we have adopted a couple of really super customer service people, adding them to our already service focused staff. I suspect you ran across one of them already, and thank you for the feedback.

We sincerely hope to be of service to you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

During the most recent winter storm, I was looking for a hotel close to the RDU airport. The Hilton Garden and Hyatt Place were full, so I thought I would try the Cambria Suites. It had not snowed in a full day, but the parking lot was covered in dangerously thick ice and slush. The staff was friendly and helpful at check in. When I arrived at my room, I was surprised at the size (looked like it could have used more furniture) and the temperature (Brrrrrrrrrrr). It took a great deal of time for the room to warm to a comfortable temperature. The exercise room and swimming facilities were in good shape. I had a pleasant sleep; although, the sheets did smell a bit like Clorox. I had made arrangements to catch the 5:30 a.m. shuttle to the airport. Other guests and several pilots were waiting for the shuttle. Several minutes after 5:30 one of the pilots inquired about a driver. The person working at the desk barely acknowledged him. Eventually we did have a driver and he did a good job getting us safely to the airport. When I returned to Raleigh, I had to call the hotel twice to successfully get picked up at the airport.
My stay was fine, but I may explore other options next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard W, General Manager at Cambria Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your review, and telling us about your stay. While we are glad you had an overall nice stay, we do apologize for missing on some of the exterior points of your overall experience. While the cold and the ice storm did set us back a little, we understand that regardless we need to provide a strong overall experience, which typically we do. I invite you to stay with again, and if you would like call me personally to make your arraingements.

I know we can present you a positive experience that will exceed all your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Normally I fly out of RDU and stay at Cambria Suites for the stay,park,and fly several times a year and have recommended it to friends and family. In the past, I have been pleased with the staff and their efforts to make my stay comfortable and worry free. It started out well with the front desk staff on my arrival on Feb 10 locating me on the first floor as I had fallen on ice and had sprained my wrist so managing my bags on the elevator would have been a problem. My 108 had a broken alarm clock/radio so I called the front desk and asked for a wake up call at 5am. Got to the airport on the 5:30am shuttle along with a Delta Crew. So far so good. I arrive at RDU 11pm on Wed. Feb. 19 and call to ask for the shuttle to pick me up. I was told it would be about 5 minutes. Waited with another Delta Crew who were staying there for 20 min. no shuttle, crew leaves and takes a cab. I call and am told it will come in 5 minutes and they are on the way. I wait another 13 minutes and call back and am told he will be there in a few minutes. I ask how long and she says, I do not know where he is so I cannot tell you. I then say, well the Delta crew got tired of waiting and took a cab, I have to drive home 2+ hours(at this point I am considering staying another night) so I think maybe I had better take a cab. The front desk staff said, "do what you want" and hung up. I walk over to get a taxi and take it back to Cambria Suites and present the bill to the same staff person who hung up on me. She appears annoyed and states,"we are not supposed to pay for taxi's for people who park here", "we are full, have one van and the driver had to take someone to another hotel". Then she takes out $10. the taxi fare and angrily hands it to me saying sarcastically, "have a blessed day." Really, the customer who stayed and paid for a room, parking and pick up is considered
the problem? Really and then is blamed for waiting for a shuttle for over 30 minutes late at night, exhausted from flying accross the country, and then taking a taxi because she has to drive another 2+ hours home? Really? Sarcasim to "have a blessed day" as the customer leaves is necessary at 11:45 pm? This will be the last time I stay here or recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Bed in room 108 very hard and unfomfortable. Broken clock/radio, toilet seat sliding off (fixed it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard W, General Manager at Cambria Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
First off we are truly sorry for the way we clearly missed the mark in providing you the experience you have typically received when you have stayed with us. While our shuttle transportation back and forth to the airport is usually very efficent, we apparently dropped the ball in your instance as well. While I am not sure of the exact cause of the situation that evening, we are responsible to provide the level of service our guests expect. Redirecting guests to a taxi service that we pay for when the shuttle is either tied up or over committed is one of the tools we use to keep our service level up.

We are sincerely sorry and aploogize for your experience. In hindsight it would seem we should have been able to answer your questions more accurately and certainly have been more polite. I think we should have reacted faster and gotten you back to our hotel with the taxi option sooner as well.

You apparently have stayed with us many times, so you know where service level typically is, and that this is not a typical experience. On your next opportunity traveling through the Raleigh / Durham airport I would invite you to contact me directly and allow me the opportunity to show you how much we have appreciated your business, and prove to you that we are still deserving of your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I average about 100 nights per year in hotels thanks to business travel. Every time I am in Raleigh the Cambria suites is my only destination. They consistently meet a very high bar for service, decor, and of course lodging and dining. They staff there (front desk and restaurant/bar) seem engaged and always pleasant. I can say that for the past 3 years each and every month I experience a high quality stay. I have been a part of several big chain loyalty programs and still have top tier status with two. However I forgo those programs when in RDU. This Cambria suites is the only place I will stay when in Raleigh. When you get there, have a cocktail at night and make sure you enjoy the breakfast! It's the best you will find at a hotel in the area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard W, General Manager at Cambria Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your awesome review, and thank you for being such a loyal customer. We are completely honored the we are your lodging of choice when you are in Raleigh, and proud we have been able to exceed your expectations for three years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hotel is very convenient to the RDU airport and the rooms are spacious and clean. Unfortunately the food left a lot to be desired. I arrived late and ordered with room service a safe Turkey Club Sandwich. The bread was toasted very dark, not much turkey and very little spread making it dry and lean. For breakfast the buffet eggs were very greasy (mixed with ham or bacon or something) so I figured I will go with safe oatmeal. Yikes, it looked like soup! Runny/watery with oats sort of floating like you might expect noodles to be in chicken noodle soup. I looked for a banana or something else but I gave up. Orange juice tasted like the cheap processed stuff so I gave up. Next time I will bring granola bars or something - or better yet walk over to the Sheraton next door for breakfast. Otherwise a nice stay.

Room Tip: Stay on the side opposite of the airport runway for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard W, General Manager at Cambria Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I have shared them with the staff, both in the hotel and the restaurant in order to make sure we are doing the proper job. I apologize to you that we failed to meet your expectations, especially with breakfast. We are glad that you enjoyed our guest suites, and we hope we will get an opportunity to show you that your first experience isn't typical of what our guests experience when they stay with us.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambria Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport

Address: 300 Airgate Drive, Morrisville, NC 27560-8492
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Morrisville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Morrisville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Morrisville
#2 Family Hotel in Morrisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located one mile from the Raleigh-Durham International Airport (RDU), the Cambria Suites® Raleigh-Durham Airport hotel is the perfect place to stay for business and leisure travelers. Cambria Suites hotel provides easy access to major cities like Raleigh, Cary and Durham. We are within minutes of Research Triangle Park. The Raleigh-Durham area is home to several companies such as Cisco, Glaxo SmithKline, IBM, Lenovo, CSFB, NetApp, Fidelity Investments, PPD and Quintiles. The Cambria Suites, RDU Airport hotel is thoughtfully designed to offer business and leisure travelers select amenities that will make anyone feel pampered, including: Barista coffee bar in the lobby, featuring Wolfgang Puck coffee, Indoor pool with spa, State-of-the-art fitness center, Contemporary Reflect bistro-style restaurant serving breakfast and dinner, Sundry shop, open 24 hours a day, seven days a week, Full service bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cambria Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport Hotel Morrisville
Cambria Suites Morrisville
Choice Raleigh Durham Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambria Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.