We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable Beds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Morganton

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Morganton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Morganton
115 Bush Dr., Morganton, NC 28655   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Morganton
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Uncomfortable Beds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel staff were friendly, but slightly detached. Breakfast was adequate, in a good way. Hotel is very clean! The beds were the downfall. We had 16 family members staying at this hotel during our grandmother's funeral. All of us complained of sore backs and sleepless nights from the bed. If it weren't for the beds we would all chose the hotel again. Easy access to 40, Morgantown, and everything you need in the area. Highlight was cleanliness!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morganton, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our location. We appreciate the opportunity to review for additional traning or upgrades.

All Hampton Inn Hotels provide the signature "Cloud Nine Beds" in addition to the many other amenities associated with our brand. It is unfortunate that in this instance you found the beds uncomfortable.

Thank you again for your comments and for choosing the Hampton Inn of Morganton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    34
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
20
10
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Nicely appointed rooms, clean, and secure. Staff are friendly, competent and helpful. Breakfast available earlier than the stated 0600 start time which was much appreciated for early work day start. Great location with easy access off and on I-40.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel was very clean. Check in was very quick. Breakfast was limited, didn't like that I would have to heat up a frozen bag of food. Waffles were delicious! Beds are very lumpy and pillows are nothing to talk about. If you leave at 3:30am don't expect coffee, there was none and we had a 12 hour ride ahead of us. However, hotel was very clean and that is a must! Plus the rooms were very quiet!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Big rooms with complete amenities (desk, blowdryer, hangers, notepads and pens, etc), clean comfy king sized bed and big bathroom with jacuzzi. Receptionists were also very helpful when we needed a sewing kit. Breakfast had a lot of options too.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I can't say enough about how pleased I was with my stay. Upon checking in, the front desk manager inquired about the purpose of my stay. When I informed them that unfortunately I was visiting town for a funeral, my reservation was immediately canceled and re-instated with a much lower bereavement rate.

I had a king room, which proved to be very spacious, quiet and clean...and had a very generously sized bathroom. The full sized ironing board and steam iron were great and put to good use.

The staff were all very friendly (as are most residents of western North Carolina) and the daily breakfast offered a lot of variety.

Overall, it was a very nice stay and I definitely recommend Hampton Inn Morganton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bessemer City, North Carolina, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel! The way it was decorated was very tranquil and kind of beachy. Even though it was a little misleading on how close it was to Grandfather Mountain, my original destination, there was a TON of fun things to do within miles of the property. There is a local winery with free wine tasting just down the highway, downtown Morganton is just right down the road which is just a precious little area. There are a lot of places to eat, make sure you go to La Salsas right down the road, that was the most amazing Mexican food I've ever had. Hickory is only 20 mins down the highway and offers a lot of shopping options as well. The only things that I could say werent great was the breakfast which all you did was heat up in the microwave, kind of nasty. The workout room in nothing to brag about but enough for vacation I guess. The pool was tiny and the sun disappeared from it at an early 4pm. But all together it was good and service was great. I will be going there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horseshoe nc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed one night as a getaway and to visit Morganton as a possible new location to live since the town is comfortable and house prices are more reasonable than other towns. Everything was great as expected. We enjoyed the pool, breakfast and HBO TV.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Morganton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Morganton

Address: 115 Bush Dr., Morganton, NC 28655
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Morganton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Morganton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Morganton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Morganton Hotel Morganton
Morganton Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Morganton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.