We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Crystal Coast

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Crystal Coast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Crystal Coast
3410 Bridges St., Morehead City, NC 28557   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Morehead City
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I would avoid this place at all costs. Our room was not very clean at all, and there was nobody available to help us. Our room was only equipped with 3 hand towels, one of which was dirty. The bathroom ceiling had become water logged at one point and painted over instead of fixed correctly. Only half the lights in the room worked, the bed sheets had stains on them, and the stains on the carpet indicated that the building had been flooded recently. Had a very pungent odor to it as well.

The only good thing about this room was the hair dryer which I personally used to dry myself after a hot disinfecting shower.

Room Tip: A tip? Go to a hotel in a bigger town. Nothing stays open here past 10pm other than Walmart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    14
    8
    11
See reviews for
6
20
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Our stay at this lodging was convenient to the dive shop where we were diving.
We were among 10 friends getting together.
When registering for this Econo Lodge, the description stated that there would be a microwave and mini fridge. There was no microwave and the fridge did not work. Very much a problem when one is buying lunch for the next day. The staff did take our food and place it in their large refridgerator.
The bed was fairly comfortable.
The air conditioner was great.
The employees were o.k.
Some of the fixtures in the bathroom were very much in need of repair.
Good supply of hot water. Temperature of water could burn an unsuspecting bather.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This motel was clean but that is about all I can say positive about it. The roooms were small, the lobby was small and the breakfast was almost to small to find. There was coffee, donuts and english muffins, period. There were two small tables with 2 seats each for eating breakfast so apparently they won't expecting you to linger long. The rooms were dark and old. The worst part though was we were on the first floor and every time the people above us walked we could hear it so it wasn't a restful night. For the price it was a big disappointment and if we hadn't had reservations ahead I would have kept going. And don't bother to reserve ahead because I was charged more than people walking in getting a room. So if you are looking for a comfortable nights rest this isn't the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

we stayed here based on reviews from the econo lodge site, the mattress was terrible, the breakfast was a laugh, dry donuts and english muffins..that was it. no jelly. no butter
the coffee in our room was this..there was an open package with only 1 bag of coffee, no creamer, sugar, stir sticks..The bath tub was dirty, big globs of hair...unfortanatly you only discover these things in the morning, when it too late to something about it.

Room Tip: don't choos a romm here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Clean updated room and a very reasonalbe price. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stayed here on business to the coast. The staff was courteous and efficient. Rooms were very clean and the shower was hot - almost too hot! Good quality towels, sheets and pillows and a decent HVAC unit. There was good soap available but bring your own shampoo. The continental breakfast consisted of pastries, english muffins, juice and coffee; I would have liked something with protein. Within its price range I would rate this a very good stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We were on our way to Hatteras Island for our usual fall fishing trip, but because Hwy 12 was closed, we had to take the long way (which meant 2 ferries, one of them 2 hours long). We decided to stay at Morehead City in order to catch the first ferry in the morning. I tried to book other hotels, but for some reason they were full. We found out why when we arrived - it was their annual Seafood Festival! I guess we were lucky to get ANY room at all, and for $48.

The hotel is a tiny bit rundown because it did sustain some hurricane damage, but the room was OK. It was clean and tidy, the bed was comfortable, and there was a microwave and small fridge. The bathroom needed an update, badly - especially the tub, as the finish was well worn, and I mean WELL WORN.

Now, about the front desk manager(s). Sometimes you read a review and you "wonder". There were two women and they couldn't have been nicer!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morehead City
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#1 of 4 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Morehead City
Free internet...
Show More
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Park...
Show More
1.9 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 15 in Atlantic Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Beach, Kitchene...
Show More
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#1 of 1 in Pine Knoll Shores
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
19.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Silver Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Crystal Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Crystal Coast

Address: 3410 Bridges St., Morehead City, NC 28557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Morehead City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Morehead City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Crystal Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Crystal Coast Hotel Morehead City
Econo Lodge Morehead City
Morehead City Econo Lodge
Econolodge Morehead City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Crystal Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.