We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant

Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant
501 Evans St, Morehead City, NC 28557
252-247-3111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 100 Restaurants in Morehead City
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Description: It is our goal to please every customer who walks through our doors. If you have a complaint please contact one of our managers.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I had dinner here,sat outside overlooking the inlet.there were plenty of fishing boats going past along with a dive boat.watch out for the seagulls they are very crafty on ways of stealing food when you are not looking.the food was excellent worth the visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, Manager at Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to the Sanitary Fish Market and Restaurant. Our outside seating added just three years ago has been a hit. However, the seagulls can be a challenge. We have tried several different ways to eliminate the problem, the of them being fishing line hung. They seem to stay away from it because it is hard for them to see. We will continue our efforts to make peoples experience the memorable in a positive way. Thanks again!

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    86
    123
    75
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, North Carolina
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good for large groups”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The prices were pretty reasonable, especially considering the portions received. Our server was a little "challenged" and didn't give good service but we let it slide. My flounder was very large and cooked well. An experienced server would have noticed how large it was and given it to my husband (since our orders were identical). I personally don't care for the large rooms and the lack of ambience. So, while the food was fine, I won't go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, Manager at Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your input. We strive to be the best from the time we get up in the morning until the time we go to sleep. We have a crew who works continually on our facility and we have recently gotten rid of our florescent lights in the dining room. We hung 35 pendant lights in the last section of dining that contained florescent lighting. We brought in a baby grand piano for our 75 th anniversary and it was such a big hit that we have pianist from all over NC playing on Friday and Saturday nights. Also our tiki torches added to our deck overlooking Bogue Sound and our transient boat docks should really set things off just in time for summer.
Thank you for your support, critique and motivation to do better. I am sorry you did not receive good service. If you ever decide to give us another chance I will personally see to it that you are taken care of!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A nostalgic favorite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We took our grandchildren to the Sanitary when they were little because they loved the road trip and the hush puppies...and we continued to go because it was a tradition. The food tends to be a little heavy but...the vegetables are often delicious and prepared southern style and I never miss the sweet potatoes. The tuna salad is very good and the servers are friendly and attentive. There may be better places to dine but if you want to remember 'olden days' at the beach, this might be thelace.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, Manager at Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to the Sanitary. We value every comment and use them to grow stronger. Our chef continues his creativity and some of his recent hits are a BLT salad with fresh Wahoo and Seared Tuna salad with manderine oranges. Or maybe even Fresh, grilled Mahi Mahi served over Spinach Florentine. These fish are routinely caught by our owner on his Charter Boat. Our menu is extensive and can be a little overwhelming. Maybe we should do a little better marketing of it to our customers. We will work on it and thank you for your help!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Morehead City restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great seafood restaurant. Staff is very friendly and welcome all patrons like they are long time returning customers. Selection was great, something for everyone. Wait staff was more then eager to address questions and offer suggestions. Good value and fast service. Great scenic view of the waterway. Plenty of parking.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playfair738, Manager at Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your patronage. We appreciate your business and hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sanitary disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a very tired old warhorse. Go for nostalgia but not for the food. If you want big plates of mediocre fried food and tasteless hushpuppies this is the place for you.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, Manager at Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I am sorry and deeply concerned about bad experiences customers have. Please give us a chance to redeem ourselves with you. Present a receipt upon your next visit. Identify yourself as a tripadvisor contributor and we will do our best to make your visit worth your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant also viewed

Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.