We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nostalgic favorite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant

Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant
501 Evans St, Morehead City, NC 28557
252-247-3111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 100 Restaurants in Morehead City
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Description: It is our goal to please every customer who walks through our doors. If you have a complaint please contact one of our managers.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A nostalgic favorite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We took our grandchildren to the Sanitary when they were little because they loved the road trip and the hush puppies...and we continued to go because it was a tradition. The food tends to be a little heavy but...the vegetables are often delicious and prepared southern style and I never miss the sweet potatoes. The tuna salad is very good and the servers are friendly and attentive. There may be better places to dine but if you want to remember 'olden days' at the beach, this might be thelace.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, Manager at Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to the Sanitary. We value every comment and use them to grow stronger. Our chef continues his creativity and some of his recent hits are a BLT salad with fresh Wahoo and Seared Tuna salad with manderine oranges. Or maybe even Fresh, grilled Mahi Mahi served over Spinach Florentine. These fish are routinely caught by our owner on his Charter Boat. Our menu is extensive and can be a little overwhelming. Maybe we should do a little better marketing of it to our customers. We will work on it and thank you for your help!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    86
    123
    74
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Morehead City restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great seafood restaurant. Staff is very friendly and welcome all patrons like they are long time returning customers. Selection was great, something for everyone. Wait staff was more then eager to address questions and offer suggestions. Good value and fast service. Great scenic view of the waterway. Plenty of parking.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playfair738, Manager at Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your patronage. We appreciate your business and hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sanitary disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a very tired old warhorse. Go for nostalgia but not for the food. If you want big plates of mediocre fried food and tasteless hushpuppies this is the place for you.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, Manager at Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I am sorry and deeply concerned about bad experiences customers have. Please give us a chance to redeem ourselves with you. Present a receipt upon your next visit. Identify yourself as a tripadvisor contributor and we will do our best to make your visit worth your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Virginia
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“A trip to Morehead City without eating at The Sanitary...unthinkable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

First time we'd been back in waaay too many years. But it's still the great place it's always been. And they have a special 75th anniversary menu that's well priced and plenty of great items. Strongly suggest the Key Lime Cheesecake. Wait staff goes out of their way to please.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, Manager at Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Nostalgia....mediocre food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The pictures on the inside are neat to view....the food was just okay. The wait staff was pleasant and attentive. The menu is decent. Worth a try just for the nostalgia of the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, Manager at Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your contribution. We take our business seriously and are always working towards excellence. We have an ongoing food creation team which constantly come up with new ideas. Maybe next time you will experience some of our new creations such as Shrimp and Grits the Sanitary Fish Market way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant also viewed

Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.