We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good home cooking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kountry Kitchen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kountry Kitchen
5380 Hwy 70 W, Morehead City, NC 28557
(252) 240-0046
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 101 Restaurants in Morehead City
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Newport, North Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Good home cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Yum yum, that was my response at this restaurant. Their menu has a little something for everyone, kids, adults, picky eaters. Daily specials which are homemade, and you can tell its homemade, its that good. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Does Not Live up to its name”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

After reading the reviews and wanting to have some good home cooking, my guest and I headed to this place for a Friday evening Southern style dinner. Unfortunately, we were very underwhelmed. I am Southern born and bred and the food we ate was absolutely not up to Southern Country standards. We were met by a friendly and personably young lady who was very attentive throughout the meal and was quick with refills and ensuring we were taken care of. The food preparation was very inconsistent between well seasoned and straight from a can. The hearty serving of meatloaf over rice and gravy was well seasoned and enjoyed. Macaroni and cheese was made from processed cheese - not cheddar and was left uneaten after one bite. The beans (that we both ordered) were straight from a can with litle seasoning and not cooked enough to remove the 'green' flavor. Collards were the highlight of the meal and were well seasoned and very flavorful. Country fried steak had a commercially-prepared gravy on top. Banana pudding had the traditional "niller" wafers, real bananas and was very good. Conclusion? A very inconsistent meal. I did find out from a family member after this experience, that you have to pick and choose carefully the veggies in this place - she already knew about the problematic green beans. My recommendation? Go to Cox Family Restaurant down the street for the same fare, but with more consistency.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Home cooking at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Kountry Kitchen is a wonderful restaurant that features the taste of grandma's kitchen. The steaks are char-broiled to perfection and the side items are similar to Cox's Family Restaurant, but you get a bigger serving size. I have eaten here many times and have never been disappointed. The owner is very generous and even paid for our meal because my wife is a teacher.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Nyack
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Home Town Goodness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We live in West Nyack NY with a second home in Morehead City. Whenever we are in Morehead we go to Kountry Kitchen. The food is excellent, no matter what you order. I especially like the fried clams dinner and the homemade meatloaf . My husband loves two of their fish dishes...fried trout and fried mullet. With the dinners you get two sides of your choice, which they give you a huge list of sides to choose from. plus either hush puppies or a dinner roll. If you order a special you get a dessert with it too. The prices are unbelievable! I never cook when we are in Morehead because the prices at Kountry Kitchen are soooo reasonable! It cost me more to go shopping for a meal at the grocery store! No matter what time you go, breakfast, lunch or dinner you get a dee-lish meal at a great price.! Also their side salads (which are not included , but still very reasonable) Are the best !Cold ,crisp and fresh and their homemade ranch dressing is fantastic! The staff are all so friendly and give you very fast and courtious service. We have lived in Morehead for 8 years and still the same staff are working there. So if you want a terrific home cooked meal that is very reasonable with friendly staff, Kountry Kitchen is the place to go!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good Homestyle Cooking!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This place is WELL Known by ALL LOCALS!! Its great home style cooking with great char-grilled steaks!! The service is fast and the staff is very friendly, and the prices cannot be beat in Morehead City..

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kountry Kitchen also viewed

Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Kountry Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kountry Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.