We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to complain about” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Morehead City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Morehead City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Morehead City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5063 Executive Drive, Morehead City, NC 28557   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Morehead City
Bloomington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nothing to complain about”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The front desk could have been friendlier, but other than that it was a pleasant stay. Very clean and fresh, decent amount of space in the bathroom, and they even use real light bulbs in the room instead of those stupid screw in fluorescents you see everywhere now.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    34
    15
    14
    7
See reviews for
30
29
5
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed two nights on a business trip, and while the hotel was conveniently located and generally clean, I was disappointed mostly by the bed and the outdated room decor. This hotel has potential, with good staff and a generally good layout, but Holiday Inn would be well advised to invest a bit of money in updates. The TV service was quite good (even better than a recent stay at a Hilton Inn & Suites!) and the front desk staff were very customer-service oriented and friendly. The breakfast offerings were only OK and could also benefit from some upgrades.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had booked a room with two beds since we had 4 adults in our group. When we arrived at our room, there was only one bed. So, we had to return to the front desk and explain that one bed for 4 people would not work. We were told that there were no more rooms with two beds, but they would upgrade us to the Presidential Suite for the night. While this sounded great, it was not all it was cracked up to be. First of all, it took another 20 minutes for our new room to be ready (even though we were checking in well after official check-in time). The room had a king sized bed and a sleeper sofa (which was not comfortable for 2 people). Our bathroom did not have any soap, and we had no bedding for the sleeper sofa, so we had to return to the front desk again to get these items. The shower did not have any cold water, so we had to do our best to shower without being scalded by the water. Later, when we wanted a beverage to enjoy, we visited the vending area where the machines promptly ate our money and gave us no drinks, so we had to return to the front desk once again to ask for our money. We were then told we couldn't get bottled water from the machine anyway because they were out of water for 3 days. I will say that the staff was friendly and accommodating when we had to ask for something, and the free breakfast was good. Other than that, this Holiday Inn was much worse than others I've stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morehead City hotels

illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Have stayed in Holiday Inn Expresses before so was very disappointed in this hotel. Needs renovating. Also, booked room with 2 double beds online for 4 adults. Was given a King and sofa bed. Went to front desk and told unacceptable. No double beds available. Checked in around 4:30, 5 p.m. Upgraded us to Presidential suite, even though had only a King and sofa bed, was larger room. Not cleaned yet so had to wait. Waited about 30 minutes or more from the time we arrived before we could get in. Went to shower that evening, no soap. Turned on water, no cold water. Went to fix bed, no bedding. Went to front desk more times than I could count. Poor girl working was by herself and others were there complaining, too. No vending machines worked, either. No matter what they tell you, sofa beds are NOT comfortable for 2 adults. Would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't let them upgrade you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful VA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

After reading reviews on tripadvisor we decided to try Holiday Inn Express in Morehead City. Wrong decision. After one night my husband was working on
his computer at the desk and soon discovered all these ants crawling all over the place. He soon complained and the front desk moved us to another room. (Incidentally, both rooms were on the 2nd floor).

When I walked in the second room I immediately noticed a very musty smell. At this point I am looking forward to leaving tomorrow. This is gross. Yes, it is cheap, but, the only thing I can really say good remarks about is that they had a decent
breakfast bar. By decent, I mean, nothing special to write home about, but saves a little $$ in the morning by feeding the kids and holding them over until lunch.

I am really looking forward to leaving tomorrow and going home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morehead City, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear pepperpaw1,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is clean and quiet! The rooms are large and have fridge, microwave and coffe maker. The breakfast is ok as well. The hotel also has a small fitness room and a pool!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I like staying at Holiday Inn Express hotels. This one was no exception. It was clean and quiet. Breakfast was good. Staff was very very friendly. Though I think part of that was a Southern thing, but we immensely enjoyed our stay here. Air conditioning worked fine and water pressure in the shower was excellent. A little more expensive than what we normally pay, but it's near the beach during summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Morehead City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Morehead City

Address: 5063 Executive Drive, Morehead City, NC 28557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Morehead City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Morehead City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Morehead City 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Morehead City, NC, welcomes all travelers near and far. For business or leisure, we are a premier, family friendly, business minded hotel. Our Morehead City, NC hotel has small town charm in close proximity to the Crystal Coast. Attractions: Ocracoke Island, Cedar Island, Outer Banks, Ocean, Indian Beach, Harkers Island, sports fishing, golfing, Croatan National Forest, Cape Lookout Light House, Maritime Museum, Fort Macon, Midnight Rodeo, Pine Knoll Shores Aquarium, OBX fishing, Charter Fishing, Crystal Coast Atlantic Jamboree, Olympus Diving, and the Big Rock Fishing Tournament. Nearby cities: Morehead City, Swansboro, NC, Beaufort, Havelock, Ocracoke, Cedar Island, NC, Carteret County, Crystal Coast, Emerald Isle, Pine Knoll ,NC, Salter Path NC, and Harkers Island. Local businesses: Henrys, Farm Bureau, IFH, Lowes, Wal-Mart, Progress Energy, Vertex Aerospace, Big Rock Sports, Carteret General Hospital, Deli Express, Corporate Lodging, 70 West Marina, and Morehead Marine-Grady White Dealer. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Morehead City invites you to enjoy windsurfing, skiing, surfing, swimming, fishing, dolphin watching, sun, fun, food and Crystal Coast hospitality. Don t forget, we are a pet friendly hotel with easy access to the outdoor areas without disturbing our non pet guests, but are limited to the number available. $25 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Morehead City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Morehead City Hotel Morehead City
Holiday Inn Morehead City
Morehead City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Morehead City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.