We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My husband's favorite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithfield's Chicken 'N Bar-B-Que

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Smithfield's Chicken 'N Bar-B-Que
4114 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC
252-247-7476
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 100 Restaurants in Morehead City
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“My husband's favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We plan our driving around where there are Smithfields. My husband loves the bbq plate and bbq sandwiches there. The sweet tea is VERY sweet and the chicken snacks (fingers) are great. I think the best part is the banana pudding and the hushpuppies.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Want the best BBQ? This is the place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Not only do we absolutely eat this BBQ when we're in the area, but we always stop on the way home (VA) and take a meal to enjoy. We love BBQ and have tried all kinds, all over the place, but this is our all time favorite! (Their Brunswick Stew is also great!)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best eastern carolina BBQ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Year after year the food is consistent. their BBQ is the juiciest and has the perfect amount of Carolina vinegar BBQ sauce . The French fries are the best that there is. The Morehead location is great with friendly service and they have a very clean atmosphere. If Carolina BBQ is your thing, you can't miss a trip to any Smithfields.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“BBQ and NC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Smithfield's recently provided the BBQ and fried chicken dinners at our resort's outdoor event. It was good-but everyone has their favorite BBQ and mine is from Moore's in New Bern. Good banana pudding!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Consistantly good barbque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Still one of my favorites. Their brunwswick stew is not as good as it use to be a couple of years ago.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithfield's Chicken 'N Bar-B-Que also viewed

Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Smithfield's Chicken 'N Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithfield's Chicken 'N Bar-B-Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.