We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, nice staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Morehead City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Morehead City to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Morehead City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4035 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Dinner for Two
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Morehead City
Stafford, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean room, nice staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Very nice Hampton Inn. I would say above average to the overall chain. Clean room, nice staff.Water side....unless is night. Otherwise it won't matter. Price difference between street and water is steep. No noise difference, so if you are going to be around in the daylight hours to enjoy the view it may be worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morehead City, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to provide all of our guests with an excellent experience! We hope we may serve you again and show you again what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    82
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
70
71
20
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Morehead City, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

What a jewel tucked back away on the water (Bogue Sound) near a nice bistro restaurant and near other fast food chains. The view from the water side is peaceful and relaxing. I stayed here when dealing with some stressful business. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and quiet, helping me relax during my stay. The staff was extremely helpful and kind. This review is really by a customer not related to the chain in anyway. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Water view room, 3rd or 4th floor quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morehead City, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to provide all of our guests with an excellent experience! We hope we may serve you again and show you again what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Exactly what I expected from Hampton Inn - clean, comfortable rooms and nice complimentary breakfast. The location on the Sound was nice but Arendell Ave. is nothing to write home about. This was a great hotel as the base for our exploration of the area - close to Atlantic Beach, Fort Macon and Beaufort. We did not take advantage of the fitness center but it looked well stocked with treadmill, elliptical, exercise bike and some free weights. It being February, we did not use the outdoor pool and though it looked a bit small, it would have been great to take a dip in the summer. All in all, a nice hotel, but if I were to come back in the summer I would probably try to find something closer to the beach in Atlantic Beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morehead City, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to provide all of our guests with an excellent experience! We hope we may serve you again and show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Overall positive experience. Friendly staff. Quality breakfast including eggs, sausage, cereal, and sweets; even a waffle bar. Clean rooms with internet access. Beds were a little small, but otherwise very good accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morehead City, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to provide all of our guests with an excellent experience! We are very excited about our new look! We hope that your travels bring you back to the area and allow us to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We arrived after the posted check-in time, with a reservation that was made well (like a month) in advance, yet still had to wait around 20 minutes after talking with the front desk attendant before we could go up to our room. When in the room, the shower curtain is so short that if you're not careful a piece of it will end up on top of the lip of the tub. I ended up having to sop up a bunch of water after getting out of the shower as a result. The bed sheets came up off the bed at all four corners when me and my girlfriend laid down, and kept coming up through the night. The vending machine on the second floor doesn't dispense change, and while the front desk reimbursed me, it sort of negates the convenience of an on-floor vending machine to have to go all the way to the store in the lobby for your change. The fridge in the room didn't keep the food we put in it very cold at all. The breakfast was kind of lame. The waffle maker (which is the same waffle maker you'll find at any Hampton) either got too hot, or cooked too long, as both my and my girlfriend waffles stuck to the machine and came out in clumps. The two hot items on offer were bagel toppers, which are really good, and sausage gravy, which I didn't get to try because it was missing. There are no individual cartons of milk, you have two big jugs, which I declined to use. The view from the dining area is pretty nice, though. The coffee on offer in the lobby is also good, and there's plenty of choice in creamer/coffee mate, there's also a bunch of different types of tea, all free to guests.

Overall it wasn't a bad stay, and I'd give it another try, but all these small things stop me from being able to just say, "yeah, it was nice", and instead I have to say,"well, it was alright, but...".

I wouldn't turn you away, but I wouldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't bother with getting a waterfront room, as you don't get a big enough window or seating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morehead City, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to provide all of our guests with an excellent experience! We are sorry that you did not have an excellent stay. Please be assured that we will address the issues you discussed and hope we may serve you again and show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a good hotel with a good view of the sound from the rear rooms. It's about 10 minutes from the beach (down the road and across the bridge), and about 10 from the mall. The breakfasts are nice and more than adequate, and the service people in the breakfast room are courteous and quick to help. Overall, the front desk people are polite and helpful. The rooms with a view are best, but all the rooms are clean and comfortable--over the years, I've stayed in several. The hotel has recently been redone, and the rooms are even nicer. There is a Taco Bell at one edge of the parking lot and a nice restaurant with good food and a nice wine list on the other--several other restaurants at every level within minutes either way.

Room Tip: Second or third floor waterside have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morehead City, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to provide all of our guests with an excellent experience! We hope we may serve you again and show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upton, MA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Located on a very busy commercial strip in Morehead City, the waterview from the BACK of this hotel is totally wonderful. We were first given a frontage room with a dismal view of the parking lot and commercial strip. Very depressing. Be aware that ,booking online "you get what you get". The view from the back of the hotel looks out over the water. We arrived at sunset and it was devastaingly beautiful! the breakfast room looks out on the water as well. A totally charming set up. the breakfast is hot , plentiful and has plenty of protein! ( something often omitted at the "free" breakfasts) The view is apparently so appreciated, there was canopy and chairs set up for a wedding while we were there. There's a spacious outdoor pool, a few lovely palms and a beatiful live oak. the room was spacious and immaculately clean, a nice spacious bathroom, plenty of countertop. The room has planty of workspace and a good sized fridge and microwave. I read the review from Amanda O and she mistakenly thought the balled lumps were from an "old" duvet, when in fact, they are the new style that Hampton and Baymont provides. I thought they provided great warmth.. the staff if VERY friendly and helpful. The rennovations are terrific and the colors are great. Very comfortable and uplifting. ( I even liked the scent of new carpet in the halls). Located on a "strip...plenty of dining nearby for a casual night out. This place was , by far, the nicest of all the hotels we stayed in during our 4 night "tour" of coastal NC.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for the water view side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morehead City, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to provide all of our guests with an excellent experience! We hope we may serve you again and show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Morehead City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Morehead City

Address: 4035 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Morehead City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Morehead City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Morehead City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hampton Inn Morehead City is located only a few miles from Atlantic Beach, with amazing views of the Intra-Coastal Waterway. Our hotel offers 119 always clean and comfortable guestrooms, plenty of meeting space for events, a fitness center, outdoor pool, and complimentary breakfast each morning. There are plenty of outdoor activities near our hotel, including golfing, deep sea fishing, sailing, parks and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Morehead City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Morehead City Hotel Morehead City
Morehead City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Morehead City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.