We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ASK for the water view, you'll be glad you did!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Morehead City

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Morehead City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4035 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Vin de Mer Package
Upton, MA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“ASK for the water view, you'll be glad you did!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Located on a very busy commercial strip in Morehead City, the waterview from the BACK of this hotel is totally wonderful. We were first given a frontage room with a dismal view of the parking lot and commercial strip. Very depressing. Be aware that ,booking online "you get what you get". The view from the back of the hotel looks out over the water. We arrived at sunset and it was devastaingly beautiful! the breakfast room looks out on the water as well. A totally charming set up. the breakfast is hot , plentiful and has plenty of protein! ( something often omitted at the "free" breakfasts) The view is apparently so appreciated, there was canopy and chairs set up for a wedding while we were there. There's a spacious outdoor pool, a few lovely palms and a beatiful live oak. the room was spacious and immaculately clean, a nice spacious bathroom, plenty of countertop. The room has planty of workspace and a good sized fridge and microwave. I read the review from Amanda O and she mistakenly thought the balled lumps were from an "old" duvet, when in fact, they are the new style that Hampton and Baymont provides. I thought they provided great warmth.. the staff if VERY friendly and helpful. The rennovations are terrific and the colors are great. Very comfortable and uplifting. ( I even liked the scent of new carpet in the halls). Located on a "strip...plenty of dining nearby for a casual night out. This place was , by far, the nicest of all the hotels we stayed in during our 4 night "tour" of coastal NC.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for the water view side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morehead City, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to provide all of our guests with an excellent experience! We hope we may serve you again and show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    57
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
46
49
14
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our mid-January stay for a few days over a weekend was excellent! The hotel has been totally re-decorated in a contemporary style in the public rooms while our guest room was very comfortable with brand new duvets and 5 pillows on our king-size bed along with a microwave plus mid-size refrigerator and in-room coffee pot. We were picked as the guests of the day so extra treats were included. The price of the room at $83. a night with complete amenities like a USA Today newspaper, a full hot breakfast and a view of the water seemed like a great value. All of the staff really went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Also, there are many different types of restaurants close by. My husband and I would stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morehead City, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to provide all of our guests with an excellent experience! We are also very excited about our new look! We hope we may serve you again and show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

A girlfriend of mine is getting married in Morehead City, so the weekend of her engagement party we decided to stay at the Hampton Inn (where she has reserved rooms for the wedding). The hotel is in a superb location, looking out over the inter-coastal waterway.
For $85 we reserved a room with a view.

When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly attendant who checked us in and gave us our keys. When we got the second floor we were met by a STRONG scent of wet paint. I mean, very strong. There were also men working in the hallways and debris lying around. We understood that they were making renovations, so we just went with it.

Our room was a decent size, with a king size bed, but the comforter was old and so worn that the filler (fake down???) in side of it had simply balled up into lumps. The bed was also very hard and there was no shower liner in the shower...just a curtain. It made it very hard NOT to get water all over the floor.

Breakfast was surprisingly good and service upon check out was wonderful. I'm hoping that the renovations that are being made to the hotel will include updates to the room. We will still stay with them during the wedding festivities, so I'll let you know. :)

Room Tip: Splurge for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morehead City, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to provide all of our guests with an excellent experience! Please know that our shower curtain is dual purposeded as a curtain and liner and we also have plans to update our duvets. We look forward to serving you again and show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MYRTLE BEACH
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was a one night stop on way back from the Outer Banks. The room was recently renovated so everything was new and the cleaning was thorough. It was a short walk to a Tavern for supper and then a good night's sleep in a comfortable bed. Breakfast was what you expect at Hampton. Next time I believe I might stay an extra night on the Outer Banks and really see Ocracoke Island, that looks like a step back in time and a lot of fun. But if your on the mainland, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the back and the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morehead City, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to provide all of our guests with an excellent experience! We hope we may serve you again and show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Hampton Inn at Morehead City, NC was as expected....nice & clean with a very courteous staff.
Just a few wee concerns that were given to the front desk.. #1- electrical socket/outlet coming out of the wall in the bathroom #2-gaps around the door-needed some weather stripping or be rehung....#3 the mattress was not too comfortable- springs could be felt all over( did not mention this- only because it was an after thought)- we survived with the mattress...would have thought the mattresses would have been of a better quality.
All in all a very nice place to stay for a few days!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morehead City, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, we are sorry for the condition of your mattress. We do have plans in 2013 to upgrade. We hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel, if your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed in Morehead City, NC, on a recent tour of the neighboring town of Beaufort. The Inn is right on the waterway and provides great views. The staff, from reception desk to food servers, were pleasant and helpful. The rooms were spotless and fresh. We will be staying there again on our next visit to the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the waterway offer an excellent view, plus sun rising as well as setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morehead City, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to provide all of our guests with an excellent experience! We hope we may serve you again and show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have stayed here a number of times on business trips and the location fits my needs. For some reason though, it is always overpriced considering it's not even close to the beach. I keep staying here because it is so close to where I often speak when in Morehead City. The staff is competent and caring. The current construction is inconvenient at best and irritating at worst. Parking is cramped due to all the construction equipment and vehicles.

Room Tip: It might be advisable to check the price of the other Hampton Inn directly across the street from At...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morehead City, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry for the construction noise, however we are very excited about the renovation and updated hotel our future guests will experience. We would like to also apologize for the less than satisfying experience that you had and hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel. We are scheduled to be completed with renovation by mid December and if your travels bring you back to the area, hope that you will stop in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Morehead City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Morehead City

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Morehead City Hotel Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City Hotel
Morehead City Hampton Inn
Address: 4035 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Morehead City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Morehead City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Morehead City 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hampton Inn Morehead City is located only a few miles from Atlantic Beach, with amazing views of the Intra-Coastal Waterway. Our hotel offers 119 always clean and comfortable guestrooms, plenty of meeting space for events, a fitness center, outdoor pool, and complimentary breakfast each morning. There are plenty of outdoor activities near our hotel, including golfing, deep sea fishing, sailing, parks and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Morehead City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Morehead City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Morehead City to your Saves list