We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful! Fun for Entire Family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lazy 5 Ranch

The Lazy 5 Ranch
15100 Hwy 150 East, Mooresville, NC 28115
704-663-5100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Mooresville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
North Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful! Fun for Entire Family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Well worth the money and drive! Great day trip with family. Animals were wonderful!! Very exciting and loved riding the wagon around. Staff was very friendly. Would recommend the wagon ride for sure. Dont wear clothing you dont mind getting some mud on because the water buffalo will slap some on you. Overall a great day!!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    81
    14
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great day trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We returned to this fun family site this past weekend. We all enjoyed seeing the animals and feeding them. You do need to be careful of your car--horns can scratch cars up. But the photos and smiles on kids faces are worth the risk in our house. We had this happen once before when we let a buffalo get to close. Now we know to not try and feed them. The giraffes are amazing!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lots of fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

If you love animals and you're adventurous you'll love this place! The animals seem relaxed and happy. Very casual, laid back atmosphere. I just visited in Spring and tons of baby animals to see. The garden is gorgeous as well. I've taken visitors at least three different times. I've been to Lion Country Safari in Florida and this is much better. Close interaction with huge, beautiful animals! Not many places out there you get an experience like this. Very different than a zoo atmosphere

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great day activity!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I was worried about how the animals where treated and did lots of reading to find that people tended to think they were taken care of well. The staff we interacted with were very friendly but I do wish there had been someone in the petting zoo or a few more signs. There was a "bird atrium" and we were unsure if we could go in - it was unlocked but we didn't want to trespass.

Things to know:
1- make a reservation if you want to ride the wagon. We didn't but managed to get on the 11:30am ride anyway so it worked out well. We had an hour to go around the petting zoo but could have easily spent more time in it.
2- Use your feed in the petting zoo b/c the wagon ride provides more!
3- Do not wear flip flops (I did)- its just too dusty and there are muddy spots plus I got food pellets in them.
4- Sunscreen and bug spray!
5- we took a diaper bag with us on the ride just in case we needed it plus little one ended up drinking water several times so I would carry water and place your bags under the center bench...other wise goats may eat it.


The wagon ride instructs you several times on how to treat the animals and I appreciated that. Our little one was 19 months old and loved it. He sat in dad's lap while I took pictures and he and dad feed the animals. Little one liked dropping the food to the pigs the best and watching the buffalo and giraffe. The buffalo were awesome as they stood there to be feed and were not shy about visiting the wagon.

Downside- we didn't get to see the macaws. Unsure if they just were not out or we somehow missed them.

The gift shop is cute. If you partake of ice cream skip the birthday cake flavor....it just wasn't that good I'm sure chocolate and vanilla would be fine.

Hint- our little one loves giraffes and if you want to be up-close so sit on the right side of the wagon to be closest to them.

You could easily spend 5-6 hours here with the playground petting zoo and wagon ride.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Use the wagon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Lazy 5 ranch is a great place for kids of all ages and adults! Whatever you do, do not drive in the park with your car. It will have spit and food all over it. Even know the wagon cost more it is SO worth it! You get to see more,they have nice tour guides, and awesome pictures!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lazy 5 Ranch also viewed

 

Been to The Lazy 5 Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lazy 5 Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.