We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel management is garbage” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Relax Inn Monroe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Relax Inn Monroe to your Saves list
Relax Inn Monroe
611 West Roosevelt Blvd., Monroe, NC 28110 (Formerly Monroe Days Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Monroe
1 review
“This hotel management is garbage”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The heat does not work, the was clothes are dirty, the drape for the shower has spots in it. The advertisement for this hotel doesn't meet the standards or the pictures that's advertised. I commented to management about commenting about the condition of this hotel the next 5 minutes the internet was locked for the hotels WiFi. Terrible way to spend your Thanksgiving Day!!! Freezing. Will never come here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    3
    1
    8
See reviews for
5
3
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avenue, MD
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We reserved this room in advance because it was my sons family weekend at college. When we checked in Friday night, there were cockroaches crawling up the walls. My husband smacked and killed the ones we saw. It was so late and we were exhausted from the 7 hour trip that we dozed off after thinking we got them all. A few hours later, my husband woke up with a cockroach crawling up his neck. We then found several baby cockroaches under the sink. The roaches weren't the only thing. We could have sworn there were drug deals going down next door. There were creepy people in the parking lot and loud thumping from the pimped out car in the parking lot. We went to the front desk to complain and they switched us to another room in another building on the opposite side, which was the non-smoking building. We had no business being in the smoking building to begin with, the reservation was wrong from the beginning. The non-smoking building had no cockroaches and did seem to be better taken care of. Thank goodness the stay was only for one more night. What a nighmare! Oh and yes, empty pool. It looked like something out of a bad horror movie.

Room Tip: If you dare venture to stay here, be sure it's in the non-smoking building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

hi me and my hubby stayed here at the relax inn 9/30/2013 ,I said it look's clean, then i pulled back the blanket the bed and was like o mg! the box spring on the bed cut was cut wide open very drity and i mean drity so i looked at the other bed and it was the same way so i called up to the front deskto complain no one answer the phone so wewalked around to see that it was no one.and note that im in a high risk PREGNANT.so what happens next is that i wake up in the middle of the night and find bites all over my body i'm iching ever where,me and my hubby, SO I stayed up all night taking pic's and i will have them posted real soon. but im back home now and on my way to the doctor cause i have been feeling very sick, from them BED BUD'S attacking me. and I will never stay here again. so angry!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Media_Mngr, OMM Manager at Relax Inn Monroe, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about our hotel. I am sorry to hear about the issues you had during your stay. However, we appreciate you bringing them to our attention, and we are looking into all matters. First and foremost, the health and safety of our guests is our top priority. Therefore, as a precaution, we are doing a comprehensive cleaning and extermination to ensure there are no bed bugs in any of our rooms. In addition, we’d be happy to discuss the rest of your stay with us in more detail. Please feel free to reach out to me at our corporate office at 678.514.2350.

Sincerely,

Joe S.
OMM Manager
Relax Inn Monroe, NC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

For those of you who read my reviews and think that I am a negative person, I encourage you to stay here and see why. There is a sign on the front desk stating that the pool is closed; when we asked why, the desk person said it was because the owner does not want to pay to have the pool repaired. I assume that this is the same reason that the picture over the bed fell on me. The "breakfast offered was: stale cereal, warm milk, luke warm pump coffee and 'Great Value" oatmeal. There was an orange colored liquid that my wife tried and decided not to drink. We asked about money off to make up for the lack of a pool but were told that the owner would not approve such a gesture of good customer service. Also the linens were not up to par either my pillow case was stained and since apparently no one on the cleaning staff speaks English, getting a fresh one turned into quite the ordeal. I kept confusing the hand towels and the bath towels (the were about the same size). Other that these things it was an OK stay. Staying home for the weekend was not an option because due to a storm on Thursday we were advised that the power would not be restored until Sunday. So I suppose it was better than staying home sitting around in a pool of sweat.

Room Tip: Try the hotel down the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Media_Mngr, Public Relations Manager at Relax Inn Monroe, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your feedback about our hotel. We am sorry to hear about your stay. However, we appreciate you bringing them to our attention, and we are looking into all matters. In addition we have not changed our breakfast policy and offerings to ensure you situation does not happen again.

Sincerely,

Joe S.
OMM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

At $50 a nite, room plus meager breakfast is a good deal. I've come to Monroe on business for years and I've slept around, so I tell you that you don't want a cheaper room here. At the Relax you get a classic old-school and slightly smelly early 1960s decor, like dropping in on a set for an episode of "Mad Men" that needs a little Lysol spray to freshen up.

You will get a large room with king-size bed, writing desk, sofa, microwave, fridge, hairblower, and TV with many channels. You also get a quiet nite. I stayed on a Thursday and practically had the place to myself.

As for the smell, the slightly unpleasant stink of the room reminds me of buildings at UNC-Charlotte or Central Piedmont CC, where I do business, and where a lot of human traffic passes daily. Wherever a large number of humans congregate daily, I have noticed that smell, and it doesn't make sense to disrespect our public spaces because of that inevitable human smell, nor should we expect a complete renovation of our older motel rooms every 10 years or so.

If you are dismayed by the motel smell of Relax Inn, I advise you not to go to Europe where the crowd stink is much worse.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Media_Mngr, Public Relations Manager at Relax Inn Monroe, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
The staff of the Relax Inn Monroe appreciates the kind words about our facility. We assure you that we do have on hand air sanitizers and room freshening sprays. Our rooms are cleaned top to bottom daily and our air freshener is used. As an older motel we do our best to keep everything in tip top shape. We hope to welcome you back again to the Relax Inn Monroe, NC.

Thanks again,
Hotel Staff
Relax Inn Monroe, NC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I recently stayed for few days at Relax Inn in Monroe, NC. I was in Monroe for a business meeting in downtown Monroe. The hotel location is very conveniently located near downtown. At the time of check-in the manager (I think his name was Sanjaay) was very friendly and welcoming. The room was very clean and bathroom was spotless. I never stay at non-franchise hotels but this hotel was as comparable to a franchise hotel. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my group.

Pros: great location, friendly staff, clean rooms at very affordable price
Cons: hotel would look better with new paint job, pool is closed and parking lot (very bumpy)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Media_Mngr, Public Relations Manager at Relax Inn Monroe, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Thomas A,

Thanks you for you most kind remarks. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Relax Inn Monroe. Yes Sandjay and his staff are shinning stars and do a great job at service. I am glad to see that our recent changes are going far and our commitment to guest satisfaction is reaching its goals. Again on behalf of all the staff at Relax Inn Monroe thank you and we look froward to your future return.

Sincerely,
Joe S.
OMM Manager
Relax Inn Monroe, NC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Im in Resort Housekeeping Management. As soon as I opened the door The room Would have totally feld inspection if this people worked for me........
1)...Furniture very worn..
2) Spit on the wall...
3) Spider Web over mirror .....
4) Dried throw up in corner of bath room wall.
5) Hair in on shower wall...
6) Bad Colking around Toilet...
7) Nasty lamp shades...
8) Nasty a/c unit.....
9) cigarette burns on everything.....
10) Creepy Guy in Silver and Red Pick Up Truck that bothered me as soon as I was walking across the parking lot.....

The only thing I was pleased with was the bed did have clean sheets... Very suprised...

Would I ever stay here again? Hell No... This place needs to be updated and cleaned correctly....
Ps.... Should have know when checking in, the sofa in the lobby was torn and the lobby floor looked discussing ......

Staff was nice...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Media_Mngr, Public Relations Manager at Relax Inn Monroe, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear LoriBryant,

First I wanted to thank you for staying with us. I am sorry to hear you had such a bad experience during your stay. After our recent staff changeover, this is very abnormal for this hotel and I will immediately investigate and correct it. Our service standard is very high and we rarely every hear negative comments about our staff and our property. Please accept our sincere apology.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relax Inn Monroe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Inn Monroe

Address: 611 West Roosevelt Blvd., Monroe, NC 28110 (Formerly Monroe Days Inn)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Monroe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Monroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Monroe - Stay with us. Our standard King and Queen Beded rooms provide great amenities for guests in the Monroe, NC area. Lodging with us allows guests perks like free parking (including trucks, cars, & SUV's), a 27" TV with SHOWTIME and movie channels, free Wi-Fi access, a microwave and fridge (in select rooms). All of our guests are welcome to join us for a light breakfast in the main lobby. Check in 2pm / Check out 11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Relax Inn Monroe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monroe
Monroe Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relax Inn Monroe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.