We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Southern BBQ!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bob Gibson's BBQ

Big Bob Gibson's BBQ
1507 W Roosevelt Blvd, Monroe, NC 28110-2751
704-289-5102
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 106 Restaurants in Monroe
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Southern BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Looking for some authentic southern style BBQ while in the Charlotte area and stumbled on this place. So glad we did! Excellent BBQ, delicious sides (baked beans, slaw, red potato salad and mac and cheese). Good, fast service in a steakhouse type atmosphere. I wish I could have eaten more meals here. Yum!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If you want food poisioning this is the place to go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I went to Big Bob Gibson's BBQ Mothers Day 2011 with my family. I am the only one who ate the vineager cole slaw in my group. Went to the doctor and it was confirmed food poisioning. I will never I repeat never go here or recommend anyone else to this place.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bar-B-Que that should be good!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Good bar-b-que but the quality is a little inconsistent. I prefer the be beef brisket but have found it fatty from time to time. When you get a good serving it is excellent but from time to time you will get lots of fat. The fries are as good as I have ever eaten. The hushpuppies are definitely some of the best although you only get one albeit a big one. Service is always above average and the staff makes you meal a pleasant part of any evening. The chicken is okay but I have had lots better, the smoked turkey is excellent and the pork is better than average. Big Bob's is on my list of regular visits.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The best smoked turkey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stopped here on our way to Wilmington and decided to try the smoked turkey breast. We haven't had smoked turkey this good since we were in Texas. If you want to try something other than pork barbecue, you won't be disappointed! The turkey had great flavor, was so moist and tender. We ordered the regular portion size and it was huge. Baked beans and vinegar slaw were both great. Service was good and lunch came out quickly.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Average BBQ not worth a detour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

While driving up the East Coast from Florida on a BBQ tour, we stopped here because of the excellent reputation of the Bib Bob Gibson BBQ in Decatur, Alabama. Our first indication of the quality of the meal to come was that we were among the very few patrons of this very large restaurant, which has all the ambiance of a Denny's (there is another BBQ restaurant literally across the street that looked a lot busier).

We ordered St. Louis ribs and various sides. Everything was just average. We had much better BBQ meals in other restaurants in other cities, from Florida through Virginia. We won't be coming to this restaurant again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bob Gibson's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Big Bob Gibson's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bob Gibson's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.