We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out-dated, in need of maintenance” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econolodge & Suites

Save Saved
You added Econolodge & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econolodge & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1938 Moore Rd., Matthews, NC 28105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Matthews
Central NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Out-dated, in need of maintenance”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Poor choice for a stay: (a) had to change one room because door would not open (b) very worn linens (c) spliced lamp power cord that separated during our stay (d) clock that only displayed 12:00 am. Definitely shows lack of maintenance. Avoid this location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
7
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We had a very good experience at this hotel. Great service, great rooms, staff is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiteville, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

No pic for reservations, no access from main rd, street access into the back of the parking lot was gated, chained and padlocked, looked like an abandoned hotel. When we finally found an access to the front it was down a beat up full of pot holes service street behind some old strip malls. I never went into the room but asked if I could cancel the reservation and the attendant would not even think about it. I asked if I could use the reservation at another econo lodge about six miles down the road that actually looked like they were in business and he said no. This place shouldn't be in business the way it looks. It looks very unsafe!!!! Nobody should have to stay in a place like this feeling unsafe and not be able to cancel or get their money back. I will turn this into the BBB!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Great hotel, The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room clean and the beds comfortable. Check-in took maybe 2 minutes, and the guy at the desk was very friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations. The room was clean and comfortable. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011 via mobile

The door to our room was broken, when we tried to go to breakfast in the morning we couldn't get out. The manager came and showed us the "special" way to to open the door since the spring in the handle was broken. He was already aware of the problem, but did not apologize or offer us a different room. The so called Deluxe Breakfast consisted of coffee, orange juice, milk, oatmeal packets, fruit loops, corn flakes and some packaged pastries.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econolodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econolodge & Suites

Address: 1938 Moore Rd., Matthews, NC 28105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Matthews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Matthews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econolodge & Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Econolodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econolodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.