We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe 157

Cafe 157
157 N Trade St, Matthews, NC 28105-1712
704-844-8686
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 149 Restaurants in Matthews
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: "American Bistro, dine- in and a very beautiful patio. Serving lunch & dinner, good food (fine dining flair)".
1 review
“Awesome time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

A wonderful experience highly recommend it !!!!!
Wine and dinner was incredible and service exceeded expectation
Will make this a regular stop when in town

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant and good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Cafe 157 is located in downtown Matthews. The building has housed several different restaurants. There is indoor as well as ample outdoor seating. During the nice weather it is great to sit outside. There are a variety of food offerings including salads, sandwiches, appetizers and soups. The sandwiches are delicious and huge. The only downfall is the service. The waiters and waitresses are a bit slow and also did not refill drinks unless we asked. They need to be a bit more attentive. The owner walks around and visits each table to talk, which is a nice touch. We have only eaten there for lunch so far.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good first-time experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Remembered seeing an outdoor patio on a drive-by one day, and thought we'd try it for dinner. The Alaskan cod was delicious! My husband got the Scottish salmon and was a little disappointed. He said it was good, but not as outstanding as the $21 price implied. He tried my cod and thought it was better than his salmon. Our daughter ordered the Cobb salad and wished the egg was quartered rather than crumbled, and the cheese didn't appear to be bleu, as she expected. But she approved of the ranch dressing, which can make or break a salad! The seating was very pleasant, set back a bit from the road with tall shrubbery for screening. The service was great, so we'll give it another try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mint Hill
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“What a find in Matthews NC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I met another couple for supper and had a stellar experience. The wives ordered pasta and seafood, the husbands ordered steaks. We shared between ourselves and all was the best food any of us had eaten in a while. Well, since the last time our wives cooked supper....The atmosphere was excellent, the waitress was one in a million and as I have said, the food was prepared perfectly. There are five distinctly different dining areas, one to suit anyones taste. We chose the one just outside the bar, with a canvas covering. We enjoyed the breeze and night sounds along with our diner. There is finer dining inside, a covered back dining area along with an umbrella covered front dining area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dining at Cafe 157”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Café 157 is a cute restaurant sitting right in the heart of downtown Matthews. Joined a friend for lunch. She enjoyed a wedge salad and I had fish tacos made with cod. We both enjoyed our meal and of course, conversation. Good service. Outdoor dining for good weather and a bar lounge. You can call them for private events also. www.cafe157.com

I would recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 157 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe 157? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe 157, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.