We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snow in Charlotte” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9420 East Independence Blvd., Matthews, NC 28105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Matthews
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Snow in Charlotte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Our power went out. My husband and I decided to go to the Holiday Inn Express near our home. The staff was very nice, helpful and understanding. Barbara was the most friendly, helpful person. Since our power went out. The Wi-Fi and the business center was also helpful.We needed to fax some documents. She went above and beyond to help us. It was nice to get excellent service and with a sincere smile. The suite we stayed in was clean, comfortable, spacious. The bathroom was very comfortable and clean. It was like having the comforts of home. Breakfast was an added bonus. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. Barbara is wonderful and most helpful and valuable staff member at this hotel.

Room Tip: The suite is your best choice. Clean, Comfortable and Spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCLT, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. The snow storm was defiantly a shock for everyone and I am so happy you found the hotel accommodating. Barbara is a star employee and we are very happy to have her. I hope that you can stay with us during your next "staycation". We would be happy to take care of any friend and family too! Thank you again for taking the time to review or hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    29
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
37
12
3
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new hill nc
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed in the HI Express on E. Independence BLVD. on Jan. 25; this was one of the most "simply beautiful" hotels I've stayed in. The decor was crisp, modern, with clean lines; simply beautiful; nothing extravagant. The front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. I was unfamiliar with the area, and I got lost. I called the front desk and Barbara assisted me with good directions and got me back to the motel. The room, the bed, the decor was again simply beautiful and comfortable. Good breakfast, too. Couldn't ask for more. Loved it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCLT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear pgranit:
We can't thank you enough for the five star review you gave us. We truly appreciate you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel, and all of your positive feedback. Our entire team will be delighted to hear these compliments about our comfortable rooms, complimentary breakfast buffet and hard working team. We look forward to seeing you again soon during your next trip to Matthews, NC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manorville, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Nice, comfortable, and clean accommodations. Perfect distance to downtown Charlotte. Across from the Charlotte Harley Davidson Dealership, perfect if you wanted to rent a bike for a few days. Independence Blvd is a busy road around rush hour, but otherwise you have everything right. A nice Cracker Barrel restaurant next door, had a good breakfast there. This Holiday Inn is a good choice, would return so I could rent a bike and do some area riding.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCLT, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate your comments and feedback. I love how we are the perfect location for you and look forward to having you stay with us again and hopefully rent a Harley when the weather gets nicer! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Nice experience at this hotel. Had a two queen bed suite---room was huge!!! Clean room and bathroom. Pillows were god awful though--both beds and could stand to be replaced at the hotel. Breakfast was fine. All in all, good experience, except for the awful people in the room above me the one night. They started at 5:15am, stomping and banging and running in the room--thought they were coming through the ceiling. Didn't even sound like kids, but adults. Called the front desk to complain, they said they called the room, but the noise continued. Finally went downstairs at 7am to complain again, meeting the person in the room next to me who was also awaken by these rude idiots. I assume upon their exit from the room around 7:30am the all must have decided to jump up and down about 10 times then slammed the door. Hope that made their day.......

Room Tip: pick a suite if you are a family--huge room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCLT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I am so sorry to hear about the people causing a disturbance above you. I hope that the noise stopped and that we were able to get a hold of the people causing the disturbance. Though it is very hard to control other peoples actions we do our best especially with teams and groups in house. I truly apologize for their behavior. I hope that you stay with us again and would be happy to put you on the top floor. We really appreciate our guests and try to do whatever we can to make your stay more enjoyable. We are definitely working on new pillows for all our rooms and hopefully should have them in all our rooms in the near future. I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Loved this hotel. Shower felt great, though it sprays a horrible puddle all over the floor and you can't stop it. Clean with a lot of space. Good tv channels and nice free breakfast. The decor is modern and comfortable. Lots of parking spots and several restaurants close by.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCLT, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
So glad you stopped by to check out our hotel. I love hearing about the great experiences our guests have at our hotel. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed breakfast as well as the shower. I hope that you were able to take advantage of our local restaurant discounts! Thank you so much for the response. I look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week due to work. I was impressed with the quality and cleanliness of the hotel. I was warmly welcomed and even provided a $3.00 coupon to the hotel store (score!). The room was comfortable and the breakfast was really good. I will say that the coffee was much better than I anticipated. I looked forward to it every morning. My only request would be a better workout room but it is comparable to the other Holiday Inns.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. I could not have asked for a better experience.

Room Tip: The air conditioner in my room was a little noisy but not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCLT, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your awesome words and suggetions! We want you to know that we are listening. The great news is we now have a connection with a local fitness center across the street from us that offers a free pass for every day you are here. I wish that we had more space at the property for a bigger fitness center. I'm glad you took advantage of the IHG Reward Member perks! Can't wait to see you in the future and hope that you try out our new gym partnership. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel was for the most part a pleasant experience. One thing I did not like was the fact the bathtub had mold in the grout and made this part of the stay unpleasant. The area for breakfast was large and the staff kept it well supplied, but they had pancakes that were precooked and reheated when you wanted one. Additionally, trying to get the wifi was difficult. It was slow and kept disconnecting and then not able re-establish a connection.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCLT, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your response. I am very sorry to hear about the situation with your bathtub and personally will look in to this with our executive housekeeper. Our pancakes are actually a machine that makes the pancakes fresh when you would like them, which I due hope you enjoyed them. Thank you so much for staying with us and we do hope you come back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East

Address: 9420 East Independence Blvd., Matthews, NC 28105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Matthews
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Matthews
#4 Family Hotel in Matthews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlotte - Matthews, NC. We welcome you to stay economically smart, experience our comfortable accommodations, leading service, exceptional value & a 100% smoke free facility. We feature an indoor pool, 24-hour fitness & business center, free wire/less HSIA, 32 HDTV & free hot breakfast bar for all guest. Our Charlotte - Matthews hotel is located in Southeast Charlotte, NC, and major roads, I-485 & Hwy 74. We are near Carolina Courts & Extreme Ice Center. We are only minutes from Matthews, NC, & Monroe, NC. Uptown Charlotte is only 10 miles & Charlotte Douglas International Airport-CLT is located within twenty minutes of our hotel. Charlotte is the home of NASCAR. This Matthews hotel is only twenty miles away from Lowes Motor Speedway. Looking for something to do? We have many attractions such as Ice Skating, Carowinds, Carolina Panther Football, Charlotte Bobcats &Charlotte Soccer. Need a Charlotte Church? There are many nearby. We have many excellent restaurants only a few minutes away. We cater to many top companies in the area such as Harris Teeter, Family Dollar, Conbraco, BESAM, & Sunbelt Rentals. If you are traveling with a company & need a hotel in Matthews - Charlotte NC, we would be honored to host you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Matthews East

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.