We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some problems Problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9420 East Independence Blvd., Matthews, NC 28105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Matthews
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Some problems Problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel was for the most part a pleasant experience. One thing I did not like was the fact the bathtub had mold in the grout and made this part of the stay unpleasant. The area for breakfast was large and the staff kept it well supplied, but they had pancakes that were precooked and reheated when you wanted one. Additionally, trying to get the wifi was difficult. It was slow and kept disconnecting and then not able re-establish a connection.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCLT, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your response. I am very sorry to hear about the situation with your bathtub and personally will look in to this with our executive housekeeper. Our pancakes are actually a machine that makes the pancakes fresh when you would like them, which I due hope you enjoyed them. Thank you so much for staying with us and we do hope you come back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    25
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
11
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was the most high-end Holiday Inn Express I've ever seen. The decor was reminiscent of the Hyatts I've stayed at. The room was so beautiful and spotless that we started snapping pictures of it as soon as we walked in. The bed was comfy and the bathroom state-of-the-art. My husband, daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay, especially since the hotel offers free breakfast and wi-fi and is nearby lots of department stores and dining options.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCLT, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your lovely words! I'm so glad to hear you loved our hotel. Our staff tries their best to give 110% all the time from cleaning rooms or serving breakfast. I do hope you got to enjoy our restaurant discounts as well! I look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We, my wife and I, and 97-year-old mother-in-law spent a week at this hotel in May, 2013 as we attended our granddaughter's confirmation. They were very accommodating and honored our request for the ground floor room we needed. My mother-in-law was using a wheelchair and felt more comfortable on the ground floor. The staff always answered our requests with kindness and concern. The breakfast more than served our needs. Yes, when we are in the area we will probably stay at the Holiday Inn Express again. It was clean, convenient and helpful for us to be there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerStaie, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We love getting reviews like this! Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed breakfast as well as your mother in law as able to enjoy her stay as well. We do hope that you had a great time at your granddaughter's confirmation. I hope to see you in the future. Thank you for your support and patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This fairly new hotel was clean, modern, with friendly staff and a comfortable bed. The pool was a little cold but nice. The complimentary breakfast had something for everyone, although it would be nice if the breakfast ran later than 9:30 (we stayed for leisure, not business). The free wifi was a little slow but good for checking email and looking up things to do. The location is great - not far from uptown Charlotte and close to all shopping and restaurants. Bonus points for being next to Cracker Barrel! The only thing that I really would have liked is better water pressure in the shower. Otherwise, great stay and would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerStaie, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I love seeing these kind of responses to our hotel. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed everything especially the convenient location of the Cracker Barrel. I will also have our Matinence engineer look in to the water pressure. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The staff here were all extremely friendly. The rooms were clean. There seemed to be a pretty sizeable business crowd staying here (Family Dollar Corporate Office nearby.) The breakfast was just fine - plenty of variety in both the hot and cold category. There are a handful of decent restaurants in very close proximity.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerStaie, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your nice words! It's great to hear from our guests and we appreciate the responses. It really helps us know what we are doing right. I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed breakfast as well as I hope you were able to use our discounts at the local restaurants.

Thank you again and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here recently for 4 nights and was very happy with our stay. Comfortable beds, nice sized rooms were clean, staff was friendly & we even managed to check in when our flight only got in at 11.30 pm. Our only disappointment was the breakfast they offered. Croissants & pastries were stale & omlettes were square pieces of egg with that plastic cheese (the one you buy for sandwiches that looks like plastic) melted in the middle. I believe that the breakfasts do improve on the weekend but by then we had discovered a great place offering breakfast across the street. Location of this hotel was perfect for our needs. Would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerStaie, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! I am very happy to hear you did enjoy your stay besides your issues with breakfast. I will defiantly look in to this issue and really appreciate your comments. This will help me make our hotel perfect for you in the future. I am glad that you were able to experience some of the great local food in the area. Hope to see you again soon! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The hotel is nicely appointed. The lobby is lovely and comfortable. The staff was delightful and most accommodating. My room was nice, clean, comfortable bed, but no refrigerator or microwave. I thought at $114 that would be standard. I've paid less at other hotels and gotten much more. I was in a 1st floor room. There was a bright outside flood light glowing in my room all night and I was facing the parking lot, so people could see in my room without much effort.

The free breakfast was nicer than most. Guests can get their kicks watching the automatic pancake maker! No shuttle here, so plan on a taxi. For two, $40 one way, but the driver was exceptional!

They boast a "room service" which is actually a restaurant that is part of the "OrderInn" program. They are not affiliated with Holiday Inn Express, but are highly recommended. Take my word for it, go out to eat. The food was extremely disappointing...not worth the exorbitant prices.

Overall, a nice place to stay with plenty of shopping, dining and strip malls so you won't be bored!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerStaie, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your response. We appreciate your feedback. I do apologize that we do not offer a microwave and refrigerator in our standard room, we do however offer refrigerators on a first come first basis as well as suite options in which the microwave and refrigerator are already in the room. I am also sorry to hear about your experience with the company that offers room service for us, I personally well be calling them to take care of this issue. We do not want our guests to have any type of negative experience while they are staying with us. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East

Address: 9420 East Independence Blvd., Matthews, NC 28105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Matthews
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Matthews
#4 Business Hotel in Matthews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlotte - Matthews, NC. We welcome you to stay economically smart, experience our comfortable accommodations, leading service, exceptional value & a 100% smoke free facility. We feature an indoor pool, 24-hour fitness & business center, free wire/less HSIA, 32 HDTV & free hot breakfast bar for all guest. Our Charlotte - Matthews hotel is located in Southeast Charlotte, NC, and major roads, I-485 & Hwy 74. We are near Carolina Courts & Extreme Ice Center. We are only minutes from Matthews, NC, & Monroe, NC. Uptown Charlotte is only 10 miles & Charlotte Douglas International Airport-CLT is located within twenty minutes of our hotel. Charlotte is the home of NASCAR. This Matthews hotel is only twenty miles away from Lowes Motor Speedway. Looking for something to do? We have many attractions such as Ice Skating, Carowinds, Carolina Panther Football, Charlotte Bobcats &Charlotte Soccer. Need a Charlotte Church? There are many nearby. We have many excellent restaurants only a few minutes away. We cater to many top companies in the area such as Harris Teeter, Family Dollar, Conbraco, BESAM, & Sunbelt Rentals. If you are traveling with a company & need a hotel in Matthews - Charlotte NC, we would be honored to host you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Matthews East

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.