We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   13470 East Independence Blvd, Matthews, NC 28105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Matthews
Summerville, SC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed here one night in February. The room was in the addition toward the back with inside access. The room was very clean and comfortable. The gentlemen at the front desk were more than accomodating. This hotel is an excellent buy for the price - no reason to stay at a more expensive hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with inside access are exceptionally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
We couldn’t agree with you more…Quality = Value! When looking for a room on a budget you should not have to sacrifice service, cleanliness, safety, or comfort. Everyone deserves to be treated as a valued guest, because without you we could not have the success and proven track record that we are building here at the Quality Inn and Suites of Matthews, NC. We are a Gold Award wining property and consistent # 1 in review sites because we want you to have a great stay and continue to build our brand and customer loyalty every day. Thank you for making us excellent!

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 East Independence Blvd.
Matthews, NC, 28105
W : 704-821-9800
F : 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    18
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
33
15
9
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I stayed here with a friend for one night on a road trip after getting a fantastic deal through Priceline. We stayed in a double room.

Overall, the hotel was much nicer than I expected. We stayed in one of the rooms that had inside access. It was quite large and felt slightly more upscale than the price we were paying. The bed was comfortable and the shower worked well. The front-desk service was very welcoming.

My only complaint is that the TV is a dinosaur. I haven't seen a CRT TV in a hotel in a long time and was surprised to find one.

Other than that, perfectly good hotel, especially for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
We enjoy surprising our guests with better than expected accommodations and service. As a recent Gold Award Winning property within our brand we have set some high goals for ourselves and reviews like these show that we are achieving them with every guest. We are currently in the process of upgrading our TVs and our suites are already outfitted with the flat panels. Our two room suites have two flat panel TVs; One in the bedroom and another in the kitchen/seating area. On extended road trips the cost of multiple accommodations can be a concern and although you received a great deal through a third party site, we always work to provide you with the most reasonable rates to insure you have a value friendly stay as well. Thank you again for your great review!

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 East Independence Blvd.
Matthews, NC, 28105
W : 704-821-9800
F : 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

The front desk personnel were very nice and helpful. Our suite was large and had two televisions and a kitchen. The shower was wonderful and we were very impressed with the hotel.

Room Tip: Select the efficiency suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
I and my staff pride ourselves on being welcoming to every guest that comes to our property. For many travelers we are the only local point of contact and we strive to be well informed of the area and attractions so that we can pass along that information to enhance your visit with us. With our new upgraded showers, hot items breakfast bar, and various room types with one and two bed single rooms as well as our 2 double beds and presidential king two room suites, we look to accommodate a wide variety of travelers needs. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to have the opportunity to serve your travel needs in the future.

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 East Independence Blvd.
Matthews, NC, 28105
W : 704-821-9800
F : 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Staff was extremely friendly and upgraded our room to a suite, free of charge. The hotel is very motel like with outside access doors, which makes it feel lower scale and unsafe. There is an addition that has inside access rooms only. The water temperature was very cool and never seemed to get hot for a shower. Room was nice, but traffic going by on the highway outside makes it very loud. I found hair on the bathroom counter that was not my own.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
We do fall into a unique category with our hotel, we have exterior rooms. In our attempt to handle all our guest needs we have retained some exterior rooms for travelers that would like easy access to their vehicles or the outdoors. We offer interior rooms as well as rooms with balconies for a greater variety of options to suit a greater number of guest requests and travel needs. Safety, sanitation, and comfort are very important to us and we welcome your return visit.

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 E. Independence Blvd.
Matthews, N.C.
28105
P: 704-821-9800
F: 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed here during a house hunting trip. Bed was very comfortable, room was clean and well maintained and the A/C ran cold. Great room at a great rate. Breakfast wasn't great, but to be in a well maintained room for less than $70 per night was an OK trade-off.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the internal access rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Relocation can be an adventure and a challenge whether it takes a day or two or a week or two. We here at the Quality Inn & Suites try to make at least a few things easier for you in the process; a safe, clean, comfortable, affordable place to stay while you are searching for a new home. Our hot items breakfast is only one feature that you can depend on. There is also a business center, cardio room, guest laundry, and seasonal pool. Our friendly and helpful staff welcomes you to the area and your new hometown.

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 E. Independence Blvd.
Matthews, N.C.
28105
P: 704-821-9800
F: 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for 7 days during the Labor Day weekend. 3 days were for business and other 4 were leisure time. Our room was very clean, everything appears to be updated. We stayed here in the past when it was Holiday Inn Express. They have a fantastic breakfast with eggs,sausage and lots of other things besides the typical starch breakfast. Everyone at the front desk, housekeepers and others were very knowledgeable with the area. We saw staff through-out the day walking the grounds and each and every one made it a point to smile and say hello and ask if we needed anything. We will stay here again when we return to Matthews. Thank you for everything

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
We appreciate all of our reviewers for taking the time and effort to let the world know how your experience was during your visits with us. With the extended stay guest you have a unique perspective into our daily operations. The 5 to 7+ days guest gets a chance to see how our service and the staff itself make the difference over the long haul. We expect all of our guests to have the chance to speak with the management and staff and we hope that every guest feels welcome and appreciated while they are with us. We pride ourselves on knowing the local area and if there is something that we don’t have on hand we will be more than happy to find out and have the information for you. Thank you for your continued loyalty and we will see you on your next trip to Matthews, N.C.

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 E. Independence Blvd.
Matthews, N.C.
28105
P: 704-821-9800
F: 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Our stay at the Quality Inn was very enjoyable! We were in town for one night and was pleasantly pleased with the hotel and staff here. Front desk was very polite and accomadating with our needs during our stay. We checked in late Sat afternoon and needed a late check out for Sun, front desk had no problem with honoring our request and we were able to check out Sun at 2, it was great that we could check out late with no problems. We stayed in a room with one king bed and sitting area with a couch, room also had microwave and frig which was really nice to have in the room. Room was clean and comfortable, looks as if the hotel was recently remodeled. We were impressed because the room was very affordable and close to everything! Thank you for a great nights stay, we will stay again!

Room Tip: We had a room with a small balcony which was nice, it overlooked the parking lot but we would reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
We hope that every guest who chooses to stay with us here at the Quality Inn & Suites in Matthews has an enjoyable time. Whether it is a single night visit or an extended stay, we know that service is what sets us apart from other hotels. With your Choice Privileges account you are guaranteed a 2pm check out with the hassle of late check-out fees. The non-smoking king suites do feature a sitting/business area in each room as well as the built in fridge/microwave and prep counter for easy snacking or even meals in the room. All of these additional features became available after the recent remodel and we still offer competitive rates and ease of access to local attractions. Thank you for staying with us and for choosing to come back again.

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 E. Independence Blvd.
Matthews, N.C.
28105
P: 704-821-9800
F: 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 13470 East Independence Blvd, Matthews, NC 28105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Matthews
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Matthews
#4 Family Hotel in Matthews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites® hotel offers outstanding southern hospitality combined with a twist of great value. This Matthews, NC hotel is just minutes from many attractions and the neighboring towns of Charlotte and Monroe that offer countless things to see and do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Matthews
Holiday Inn Matthews
Matthews Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.