We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, large, comfortable rooms, good continental breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   167 J.F. Robinson Lane, Mars Hill, NC 28754   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mars Hill
Ontario
1 review
“Clean, large, comfortable rooms, good continental breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times and have always been pleased with the condition of the rooms and the service.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    24
    9
    1
    8
See reviews for
61
25
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
asheville,nc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

very close place to wolf ridge ski resort and they have all aminities in room with
gorgeous view clean room ,nice breakfast in the morning ,frendly staff,we love it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

NEVER stay at this hotel! Drive the 20 - 25 minutes to the Asheville area to find a hotel. I stayed one night here (I had to due to a family funeral). The smoke detectors did not work in the rooms, the room/bathroom/carpets/lobby were filthy (I ruined a pair of white socks by walking on the carpet), (and the manager agreed with me that "you get what you pay for with the people you hire to clean"). Massive amounts of mold/mildew in the bathrooms, torn/falling down wallpaper in the bathroom, ceiling light fixture missing - bare bulbs to light the room, shower curtains "pool" in the bottom of the tub creating VERY slick tub conditions - not to mention filthy tubs, rate we were quoted was MUCH higher than walkins that asked for rooms (when he'd told us that he was sold out and had NOTHING left) and there were Beetles (bugs) everywhere! 60 in one room (they had to bring a vacuum to a family members room to clean them out), my room had 24 in them. The manager said they were "harmless" and he had a piece of paper on the front desk stating it was "Beetle season" and they were there. (I wonder how much he charged them per night). When I told him they were unacceptable, he kept repeating they were "harmless" -- I told him they might be harmless but I still didn't want them CRAWLING all over me while I was TRYING to sleep! (AND there are such things called EXTERMINATORS that can get rid of them)! The manager was VERY rude and argumentative and basically told me to deal with the filth. (I have digital photos to substantiate my claims). I wouldn't stay in this hotel again if they gave me a free WEEK!!! I'd even drive the additional miles to Asheville and pay more than the $159.92 that he charged us for each room (yes, we had 2 rooms - duplicate the problems!) Plus, we had relatives that had the same issues in their rooms. Basically, all in all, he got 6 rooms out of us at $160.00 each. Like I said above -- when you get to this hotel -- KEEP DRIVING!!! I can't believe he's a member of the "Choice Hotels" Group!

  • Liked — Not ONE thing!
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

We selected this hotel because it got good reviews on Trip Advisor. Overall we did enjoy our stay at this hotel.

The Pros: Nice location - A quiet location on a hill overlooking the mountains. Don't forget to ask for a room with mountain views. Breakfast area - Had nice picture windows of the mountains.
Staff was nice & friendly. Room was clean

The Cons: The room (at least the one we stayed in) needed some TLC. Hopefully the hotel will do a little renovation soon. The dresser drawers were falling out. The door top hook lock was missing. The Bathroom sink stopper was broken and overall the room could use some updating (bedspreads & rugs)

Important note: Always call and check if the walk-in rate is cheaper then the Internet rate. Usually it is not but sometimes it actually is.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room quality
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

Price high for what it was just adverage off the interstate hotel. Only food near is fast food shops. A $50.00 hotel with a $100. price tag.

  • Liked — Above adv. size room
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2007

Very new Comfort Inn right off the interstate. We found it in the Comfort Inn guidebook, and since it was near our destination of Spruce Pine, which had little lodging, we called ahead and booked a room on our way from Knoxville. We are from Oklahoma so it was cool to find the hotel clerk was also from our home state, near our home town! She was really helpful, as we could not find the hotel at all. We came in from the west on a back highway, and drove through the rapidly growing town. The motel sits high on a ridge above the interstate, and is really easy to see if you are driving on it, but from the other highway it is invisible. (Look behind the Waffle House, and drive up a road to find it).
Room was nice, included a microwave and refrigerator which is nice when traveling by car. Breakfast was continental, did include waffles, and was fine. Pool was very nice, outdoors. Beautiful area, beautiful views except our room unfortunately was just behind the dumpster enclosure, so we did not have a good one. But we could walk outside and see the Blue Ridge mts all around. Great place to stay if in the area; we went to Spruce Pine to go to Gem Mountain (fav part of the kid's 3200 mile trip).

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2006

we have stayed here more than once,its clean and everyone is very nice and helpful all in all its a great little motel

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 167 J.F. Robinson Lane, Mars Hill, NC 28754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Mars Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mars Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Mars Hill
Comfort Inn Mars Hill
Mars Hill Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.