We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good as when I was 10!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linville Caverns

Linville Caverns
U.S. 221 between Linville and Marion, Marion, NC
828/756-4171
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Marion
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
Attraction details
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just as good as when I was 10!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

You know those places where you think they were so awesome when you were little but you go back and you aren't so impressed... well this is just as wonderful when you are 5 or 75... Loved it and such great guides who care about their tours. Thanks and we will be back

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    91
    42
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

If you are visiting the area, we recommend that you take the time to stop at Linville Caverns for a quick tour. It is relatively inexpensive and the tour is only about 15 minutes long. Inside the cavern, you will see amazing formations and an underground stream with trout living in it. There are sometimes a few bats in the cave, but don't worry. As the tour guide said, they are "the size of a chicken nugget" and are completely harmless. Remember that it is their home and you are just a visitor. The tour guides really seem to care about maintaining the health and integrity of the cavern, which is continuously forming new structures through the natural dripping of water inside the cavern. It is cold down there (52 degrees year round) and damp, so dress appropriately. Don't forget to bring your camera. Flash photography is allowed inside the cavern.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poindimie, New Caledonia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super attraction with great guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We visited the Caverns in Sept. Wow! What a unique place! ....and beautiful! Our guide was an older gentleman from the area; ( Mr. Brown) and was so informed and genuinely nice! How refreshing!!! He was so sweet to an elderly couple that was there. And man did he know his facts and stories abiout the cave. Great place to go with family and or friends!!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campobello
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Linville Caverns is a unique experience because you don't wander through caves like this often. Our tour guide was funny with a dry sense of humor. The cave tour was interesting and informative. Try to stay close to the tour guides because it's hard to hear them if you're in the back of the line. * Spoiler alert * At one point in the tour they take you into a VERY narrow crevice and have everyone squish real close together to get everyone in one niche. They DO tell you beforehand if you're claustrophobic then to stay behind and they'll come back and get you...listen to them...trust me. I didn't realize I was going to be affected by this but I was. It took ALL I could do not to knock everyone down and run out of the niche. (Geez what a wimp I know). If you go when the bats are hibernating (after October) you can see many hanging around in the cave. There were only 3 in the cave when we went (September).

I would highly recommend this tour to anyone as a unique way to spend an afternoon. After the caves we drove 3 miles up the road and did a 1/2 mile hike to the Linville Falls.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice little caverns”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We spent a few hour in the Linville caverns on our way back home to Florida. The guide was nice, & his accent was entertaining. The caverns are small, but have interesting formations. My kids had never been in a cave beofre, so they really enjoyed it. All the staff were friendly & helpful.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linville Caverns also viewed

Marion, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Marion, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Linville Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linville Caverns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.