We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best New Year's Eve Idea Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottages at Spring House Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottages at Spring House Farm
Save
You added Cottages at Spring House Farm to your Saves list
Haynes Road, Marion, NC   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Marion B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best New Year's Eve Idea Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for NYE 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our visit! Zee and Arthur (and Jerry Lee!) were wonderful caretakers and have such beautiful cabins to offer their guests. I am particularly fond of the fact that the cottages are all eco-friendly and there is also a wildlife sanctuary present on the land. My partner and I stayed in "The Reach", which is the most secluded cabin. There was a satellite radio, TV & DVD player, a huge comfortable bed and nice warm fireplace. Outside on the deck was a grill and hot tub, so we took advantage of preparing our own food and a midnight dip in the tub to ring in the New Year! We also took a hike that lasted a couple miles around the property and the view was breathtaking. You could see the mountains stretching far and wide, smell the crisp, fresh air and hear various creatures roaming about the woods; much needed and refreshing for the both of us!

We will definitely be coming back to visit the Cottages at Spring House Farm!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

This was exactly what we needed. I have to say I am stealing this quote from the guest book. I read it and thought - that is exactly right. Private, quiet and serene. Hosts were perfect and had the right balance between "there if you need than" and "otherwise unseen" - loved Jerry Lee - the dog. The highlight were the three geckos in the bathroom and watching my husband try to catch them. Was the only wildlife we saw. All good. If you are looking for night life - not for you. If you want to rekindle your marriage, it's perfect! Cabin was awesome - hot tub was great. Take glass wine glasses if you want them. Also no tupperware or baggies for leftovers. A do-again! NO CELL PHONE SERVICE!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

We loved the stay in our cabin on Spring House Farm. It was located at the end of a one-lane road in a lush forest. All we could see was green. All we could hear were the birds and other wildlife. We did not leave our cabin for three days - except to walk around the farm, relax on the hammocks on the island in the lily pond, and hike up on the ridge. We never saw another person or car while at our cabin. Talk about getting away from it all! The owners (Art and Zee) arranged a catered dinner in our cabin one night - very romantic. The outside hot tub was a great way to end each day. And Art's almost famous, fresh-baked bread was a great way to start the day. The cabin was spacious and very clean.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2007

We stayed in the Compleat Angler for 4 nights at the end of April and we loved it. Relaxing on the porch, trying to work out what 4 legged animal had left its footprints on the BBQ cover, wandering around the grounds with Lulu the dog as a guide, seeing a hummingbird for the first time (they are sooo tiny). We loved that our privacy was respected but I think it's fair enough to see other people on the property from time to time! It was my husband's birthday while we there and we hired in caterers for dinner on the porch which was a lovely treat. It's a great base from which to visit Asheville, Biltmore and even Dollywood! I would definitely recommend Spring House Farm - I wish there were more places like this.

  • Liked — The location was amazing
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2007

SHF and its caretakers are truly lovely. We had a very fine visit to this area of NC, but there are a few things we think you should know before you go expecting remote 'nature' experiences, at least in the two cottages (Compleat Angler and Appalachian House) we rented. These two cottages are closest to the family's house and to the road. The other cottages (higher up the mountain) may not have any of the issues we describe below. Get really clear with the owners on your desire for quiet when you're picking your cottage! We're pretty particular.

My spouse and I stayed at SHF for 5 days in the height of wildflower season, early May. The first two nights we stayed at the Compleat Angler, then we were joined by a friend and we stayed together at the Appalachan House, which is the only cottage with 2 bedrooms.

The Compleat Angler is exquisite. The building, the site overlooking the trout pond, the huge kitchen with high quality utensils (and dishwasher!), the stone fireplace you can see from the bed -it was idyllic. There were herbs for cooking growing in a pot on the front porch. We sorely wish we could've stayed there the whole time. A drawback was the visitors to the pond from other cottages having their own 'private experience.' We were never really sure we were alone. Looooong conversations carried well over the water, and we heard them all from the porch.

Our second stay was the wonderfully restored App. House. If history is your bag, you'll love to at least see this house-which you can do from the road, by the way. My main concern about this cottage was that 2 couples could never actually use the tiny kitchen to cook together. It's a one-woman kitchen just like back in the day! A design issue I hope they address. In contrast to the first cottage, the pots and utensils are small and inadequate. Also the seating area in the living room was not large enough for 4 or even 3 people. If you're going to go out and about, and not really get into cooking this house is a fine spot. We had massages on the rear deck one morning, and yet again, other guests wandering the property happened to wander by. Oooops.


On the other hand, the massages were top-quality. We know because we run a business that includes those services ourselves.

(In response to other reviews, both cottages were immaculate and well maintained...no bugs anywhere!)

Spring house Farm is an excellent example of responsible and sustainable land stewardship. Preservation of wild land is important to me. The pristine landscape is being ripped up in this part of NC for thousands of 'dreamhomes' and the hills are alive with the sound of development here, including the neighbors around Spring House Farm. One family directly across a field from the cottage 'Applachian House' was in the heavy equipment phases of landclearing while we stayed there. Every day we were there (3 nights) the dump truck gave us our morning wakeup call.

Ask the family to be very clear about the current construction status around them when you visit.

  • Liked — newly built, quality cabins
  • Disliked — road/construction noise, lack of privacy
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

Our stay at Spring House Farm was one of the best vacations my husband and I have ever experienced. It is perfect for a romantic get away. The property and cabins are beautiful, and the service and attention to detail by the owners is spectacular. We will definately visit there again!

  • Liked — the service
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2006

What a beautiful property-and it is so close to Charlotte, yet so far away. It is very remote, and that's what is great. When we arrived we were greeted by one of the owners, Zee, and their dog Lulu. We were given a great bottle of wine, and escorted by a 4-wheeler up & over to our cozy little cabin. The cabins are simple-but have some unexpected amenities, like XM radio, a collection of 1940's Life magazines, and board games. We brought groceries & took advantage of the fully equipped (yet simple) kitchen. The hot tub was a nice treat at night-the stars were breathtaking. You cannot hear any noise from other cabins because they are located so far apart. The wood-burning fireplace had a slight learning curve for me, but once I got the hang of it I loved it! This trip helped me discover that I am more of a nature girl than I expected! Very romantic-I highly recommend it for couples! Make sure to take advantage of touring the Ledbetter House-an amazing example of colonial architecture, design, and historic preservation.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottages at Spring House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages at Spring House Farm

Address: Haynes Road, Marion, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Marion
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic getaways to secluded log cabins in woodlands at the foot of the Blue Ridge Mountains near Asheville, Chimney Rock, Lake Lure and Lake James, North Carolina. Just six cabins on 92 acres of rolling woodlands and nature preserve with ponds, hiking, gazebos and more. Each log cabin is secluded at the end of a winding private drive in the lush forest. Sleep well in a handcrafted log bed, relax in the hot tub on the deck, and wake up to a kitchen already stocked with farm fresh eggs and fresh baked bread. Rejuvenate a couples massage on your deck or inside your cabin. Take a drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway to hike atop Mt. Mitchell. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottages at Spring House Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.