We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of FATZ

FATZ
390 US 70 W, Marion, NC 28752-6202
828-659-1364
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 57 Restaurants in Marion
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: At FATZ, we serve your favorite American fare with a delicious twist. From steaks to seafood, treat your taste buds to the flavors of FATZ.FATZ is committed to the highest standards of fresh quality food preparation with the finest of ingredients.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Never again!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Over cooked hamberger. I think it was very likely that it was "pre-cooked" and then warmed up just prior to serving. The french fries were served luke warm. Great service by an attentive young man but this is the second time I have been served over cooked food and/or luke warm food, so I avaoid Fatz from now on.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeEnterprises, Manager at FATZ, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
At FATZ, we are committed the highest standards of fresh quality food preparation with the finest of ingredients. We are sorry to hear that we let you down and will share your feedback with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nc
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT EATING EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Hotel manager recomended Fats cafe to us and we were very pleased, The food was great,the service was outstanding, at a very good price, considering what others charge for alot less food, and when we mentioned that it was our first visit we received a free sample of their awesome calabash chicken, and also one of the best peach cobbler desserts we had ever eaten..I highly recommened Fatz cafe to anyone in the area.. Can't wait until they get a place in our area ....

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina, USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“So..so..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Wait staff very friendly...Food just ok..could have been better..price was reasonable.
Will try again..

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jefferson, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Totally ignored”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We walked in last night. There were very few patrons and no hostess or bartender. After waiting a few minutes, we sat ourselves at a booth in the bar. The bartender walked past us a few times waiting on another table and serving 2 other patrons at the bar. After she passed us a few more times we walked out. We were there at least 15 minutes and no employee of the restaurant spoke to us, including the hostess at the door as we left.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeEnterprises, Manager at FATZ, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
At FATZ, we pride ourselves in providing you with a great meal experience, and we're terribly sorry that we let you down. We take your feedback very seriously and will share your experience with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shrimp and Grits (pricey for what you get)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I decided to try the shrimp and grits entree recently at Fatz. It was at least $11.
The plate arrived with a huge pile of grits and little topping (consisting of shrimp and bacon bits).

Don't misunderstand....the food was DELICIOUS. I would have had a more balanced meal had I chosen the Hawiaan chicken dish or calabash chicken...and for less money.

Otherwise, the service was great!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FATZ also viewed

Marion, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Marion, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Marion, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Marion, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to FATZ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FATZ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;