We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT EATING EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of FATZ

FATZ
390 US 70 W, Marion, NC 28752-6202
828-659-1364
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 57 Restaurants in Marion
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: At FATZ, we serve your favorite American fare with a delicious twist. From steaks to seafood, treat your taste buds to the flavors of FATZ.FATZ is committed to the highest standards of fresh quality food preparation with the finest of ingredients.
nc
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT EATING EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Hotel manager recomended Fats cafe to us and we were very pleased, The food was great,the service was outstanding, at a very good price, considering what others charge for alot less food, and when we mentioned that it was our first visit we received a free sample of their awesome calabash chicken, and also one of the best peach cobbler desserts we had ever eaten..I highly recommened Fatz cafe to anyone in the area.. Can't wait until they get a place in our area ....

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“So..so..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Wait staff very friendly...Food just ok..could have been better..price was reasonable.
Will try again..

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jefferson, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Totally ignored”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We walked in last night. There were very few patrons and no hostess or bartender. After waiting a few minutes, we sat ourselves at a booth in the bar. The bartender walked past us a few times waiting on another table and serving 2 other patrons at the bar. After she passed us a few more times we walked out. We were there at least 15 minutes and no employee of the restaurant spoke to us, including the hostess at the door as we left.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeEnterprises, Manager at FATZ, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
At FATZ, we pride ourselves in providing you with a great meal experience, and we're terribly sorry that we let you down. We take your feedback very seriously and will share your experience with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shrimp and Grits (pricey for what you get)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I decided to try the shrimp and grits entree recently at Fatz. It was at least $11.
The plate arrived with a huge pile of grits and little topping (consisting of shrimp and bacon bits).

Don't misunderstand....the food was DELICIOUS. I would have had a more balanced meal had I chosen the Hawiaan chicken dish or calabash chicken...and for less money.

Otherwise, the service was great!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Pine, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“There's something for everyone at Fatz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have yet to have a bad experience with this restaurant, and I have eaten here repeatedly. I have always found the waitstaff extremely attentive and friendly. I have never been disappointed with my food, even when I was trying something new. What I really like about Fatz is that they serve such a wide variety of foods. They have the best poppy seed rolls and butter I have ever tasted! The mixed drinks are also excellent, to the point that you cannot taste the alcohol, which is a plus to me.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FATZ also viewed

Marion, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Marion, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Marion, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Marion, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to FATZ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FATZ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.