We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware Of BEDBUGS!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Marion

Super 8 Marion
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Marion to your Saves list
Super 8 Marion
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4281 Highway 221 South, I-40 @ exit 85, Marion, NC 28752   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Marion
Manteo, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beware Of BEDBUGS!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

It seemed nice at first.As my elderly Mom and I were settling in ,watching a movie on TV,she turned and noticed a bug on her pillow.A tick?,but it ran very fast!She caught it & flushed it down the toilet.After a few minutes,she saw another.This time I realized ,"This is no tick!They don't RUN,and took closer inspection and determined it was a bed bug.We turned over the pillow& saw one MORE running fast to get out of sight.We caught it too & squashed it.We had had ENOUGH!So,we gathered up the bugs & took to the desk clerk.She was disgusted & promply gave us a refund-did not charge for the room.But assured us that they have never had this problem before.We were offered another room but we chose to leave.We went across the road to the DAYS INN.At first we were pleased,until morning,we tried to use the shower but it would not work.My Mom can't get into a bathtub at her age,so we asked at check-out for a reduction off the price & the RUDE dark skinned middle aged man said,"Fill up the tub & take a BATH!" good luck finding a good place to stay in Marion,NC!

Room Tip: avoid bed bug room 126 room 126 has bedbugs in bed by bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    20
    10
    19
See reviews for
17
21
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Would have stayed here had they answered their bell when I tried to check in late at night, instead of sleeping! Finally when the bell was answered the clerk whom had just woken up was rude! We had called earlier in the evening made a reservation, even had the reservation confirmation and said we would be in. When we were charged a higher rate the clerk lied and said no one had called earlier! I am sorry but who in thieir right mind calls a customer a LIAR! Go Elsewhere people if you dont want your rates changed.. Thank goodness we called our credit card company immediately and made sure they could not charge us anything...hold tight to your money this place will try to take it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

O NOT STAY HERE! The bed was as hard as plywood, "super continental breakfast" consisted of muffins and Krispy Kreme doughnuts from the gas station next door, the shower rod was a curved shape with no liner so water got all over the bathroom, the bath tub was only big enough for a six year old, and the service was awful. I only paid $55 including tax for a night's stay, but I wish I would have forked over the extra $50 to stay at the Hampton Inn a few miles down the road. If you want hard beds, bad service, an awful breakfast, then go ahead and stay here. If you are looking for a semi-comfortable or even acceptable stay, go somewhere else!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011 via mobile

We brought our credit card statement to the owner, but were denied a refund because they could not find our reservation or the charge to my card in "their computer system." Owner was very rude. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach Shores, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Our room was not very clean and was rather shabby, yet an envelope was on the dresser asking for tips. The motel was filled with workmen who walked around semi-undressed, hung overalls outside their rooms, and had bottles and cups outside their doors filled with cigarette butts.
18 wheelers parked adjacent to the motel running their diesel engines all night long.
The alarm clock in the room started "chirping" every 15 minutes after midnight even when turned off - we had to unplug it. Then we received a very early wake-up call that we had not scheduled, guaranteeing that we got very little sleep.
This was our most unpleasant motel stay in a long time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

I just spent 2 nights at this hotel, while on a hiking trip with my daughter. The staff is very friently and helpful, and they take pets for a $20 fee. It is right on I-40, contrary to some of the maps that suggest that the hotel is west of Marion. It is right across from the Days Inn, which has terrible reviews. There is a quick mart/gas station right at the hotel, but otherwise there is nothing anywhere close to the hotel, so expect to drive in order to get anywhere in Marion. The rooms were typical Super 8, and the breakfast was nothing fancy but very acceptable. So, like the other reviews generally say, it is a great place to lay your head, and there really isn't anything to complain about.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponchatoula
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

I love going to the North Carolina area to relax and see the surrounding areas. This Super 8 is a place I always stop at. The hotel is simply a place to sleep. It is not a 4 star hotel, but I'm only looking for a clean and safe place to sleep. It is usually a very quiet place and the people are very helpful if you ask for help. If you are looking for a safe place to sleep this is the place.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Marion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Marion

Address: 4281 Highway 221 South, I-40 @ exit 85, Marion, NC 28752
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Marion
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Marion 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Marion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marion Super 8
Marion Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Marion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.