We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Clarketon Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Clarketon Motel to your Saves list
The Clarketon Motel
1527 Soco Road, Maggie Valley, NC 28751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Clarington,Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We have been down to see Phil &Tami & Trica now 3 times,... love Maggie Valley and the biker friendly people of Maggie Valley.....we are heading back in Sept of this year..cant wait. We have a great time on the bike rides Phil & Tammy takes us on they treat us like family. We go to dinner with them if not they cook on the grill just to make you feel at home. Always clean and very very friendly. Love (Roxy) she is there dog and she loves everyone. We are bringing some of our friends to stay there this trip. Phil & Tami you guys are the best. see you soon.~~~~~~~~~~~~Bird & Lady Bird Clarington Ohio

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    17
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
26
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Wow, Phil and Tammy are really great people. There were eight of us who rode motorcycles from North Atlanta area to the Dragon's Tail, Blue Ridge Parkway and on to Maggie Valley. After a long day of riding the pool was a very welcome experience!! Phil and Tammy treated us like we were the best of friends. All of us enjoyed our stay and are already making plans to go back for another ride and will stay at the Clarketon again. We are planning to have Phil take us on some of the local rides too. I would highly recommend the Clarketon to anyone who is traveling in the Maggie Valley area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Older hotel, but very nice place and location.
Rooms clean.
Loved playing horse shoes and the swings.
Had a great time.

Room Tip: We had a room on the end, nice. Parents had a room in the middle, also nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I really hate writing this.
Clarketon has been my little secrete place to go to, and I'm afraid once the word gets out about what a great place this is, they'll probably always be full?
But they deserve the recognition
If you are going to Maggie Valley, this is the place to stay.
Period.
The owners ( Phillip and Tammy) will treat you like family, and are some of the nicest people you will ever meet. They go above and beyond to make sure your stay with them is 100% satisfactory.
If you are on a motorcycle or just out sight seeing, they can tell you some of the best places to ride and to see.
The Rooms are C-L-E-A-N and Oder free. The A/C is cold, and my room had a mini fridge. There is always a fresh pot of coffee in the lobby area and a nice campfire on weekend nights.

You will not be sorry staying here.

PS: If you are a motorcycle rider looking for some nice twistys? Plan ahead and ask Phillip to take you on ( or show you) some real nice 'locals only' hot spots☺

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin,Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

This place is a Great Motorcycle Destination. The room was just what we wanted plus. The staff was friendly and went out of there way to make us feel at home. After a long day of riding the pool was rejuvinating. After dinner there was a bonfire and good times were had by all.There were lots of places to eat or you could go to the store and grill at the motel. Can't wait til the next time we visit. Thanks Tammy and Phil you made the Trip one to remember,Richard

Room Tip: 7 was our lucky number. plenty of room ,fridge and micro, nice bathroom.Nice view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

My friend and I had just dropped my oldest daughter off to her 1st year of college...feeling sort of sad, we decided to see the sites and stay for a few days. The Clarketon Motel was clean, quiet and is owned by one of the nicest families I have ever met! The rates were reasonable and the owners made each guest feel welcome as if we were old family friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The Clarketon Motel is the only place I will stay in Maggie Valley. Phil and Tammy make you feel like family. Check in was smooth and fast with this large group.Phil guided us on three rides through some of the most beautiful scenery I have ever seen. We had a grill and refrigerator available for our use. Phil had the fire pit going each night for us to spin our tales. Tammy is working on the Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: B side are a little larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clarketon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarketon Motel

Address: 1527 Soco Road, Maggie Valley, NC 28751
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Clarketon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarketon Hotel Maggie Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clarketon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.