We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scottish Inn

Scottish Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Scottish Inn to your Saves list
Scottish Inn
178 Soco Road Highway 19, Maggie Valley, NC 28751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Its a nice motel to stay at, the staff is very friendly. It is a Small motel and a older one, but the staff is making the motel a nice place to stay in. We Found it clean and Comfortable and well maintained.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
3
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed at Scottish Inn for a night during the leaf peeping season. It is an older hotel to be sure, but found it to be clean, comfortable, and well maintained. Didn't see any of the problems mentioned in the other posts, but considering the age of the other posts, it is understandable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the price was terrific, considering the outrageous prices the other hotels were charging during the season for roughly the same quality of rooms. In addition, it is nearer the the end of the "strip" in a more isolated locale,and set back farther from the street so you avoid the noise and congestion of the other places, if that is what you prefer.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing street are quieter, HVAC is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tn
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed at the Scottish Inn during a 3 day conference at Lake Junaluska. The Inn was an older establishment, but clean. Our beds were comfortable, but the pillows were very thick and seemed hard to me. Maybe I'm just not used to a super thick pillow. The towels could have stood to be replaced but they weren't thread bare, just discolored. The continental breakfast was a snack cake honey bun and weak coffee. There is a gas station next doors that serves breakfast. There is a pool but we didn't use it. We just didn't have time. The bathroom and room was clean. It was a nonsmoking room. No complaints with the smell of smoke from prior guest. Everyday when we came back the beds had been made and towels replaced. I would stay there again. The place was dated but clean. Don't go expecting to find a 5-star luxury motel. It had a few little things wrong but it was clean, the main thing!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed for 2 days, the rooms are dated but were clean and well kept. Did not notice carpet being soiled. I think the carpet has been replaced since the "sock pics". We were there during the peak of leaf season and also during the clogging competion and all the motels in the area had their prices elevated at a VERY high price for what they were. Other than being overpriced because of the season it was a great stay and we would not hesitate to stay there again. Do not expect anything fancy, just a clean safe room for the night which at any other time would be at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, NC
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

I read all the reviews and saw online that the rooms had been newly remodeled. We had a travel coupon for a great discount price, so we thought we would check it out for an overnighter on the motorcycle in Maggie Valley. When we pulled up, it is an older red brick building, but it was very clean and tidy outside. The young lady at the front desk was so sweet and welcoming, very refreshing these days. They gladly accepted our discount and said to let them know if we needed anything. They asked us several times during our stay if everything was OK. When we walked into the room we were so pleasantly surprised. The room smelled so fresh and clean. Everything was brand new, carpets, drapes, bedspreads, shower, freshly painted with wallpaper border. We were so happy. We arrived around 7:00pm after riding in 90 degree weather all day. The clear, clean, sparkling pool was absolutely wonderful. We took a couple of cold drinks poolside and hung out for about an hour or so before going to dinner. It was so peaceful and relaxing, we really enjoyed ourselves. The king bed was very comfortable, thick lush towels and the soap smelled good too. Our room faced the swimming pool with a big (clean) picture window overlooking the beautiful Smoky Mountains. We can't wait for another chance to get away and we will certainly go back to the Scottish Inn. If you haven't been lately, check them out again. You can't beat the price and the service. We were in room #8 and have no complaints at all. We have stayed in some really bad places for a lot more money, do not expect the Hilton, but well worth the price. Also a great location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberty
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

spent two nights on a trip to Cherokee, had reservations and got what I had asked for, King bed non smoking. Upon check in was not offered discount rate for AAA. The continental breakfast was a real joke but considering the room cost I can understand.
The real ticker was how awful dirty the rug was. Took my shoes off upon entering the room and spent about 3 hours in the room before I took my socks off to retire. My stomach turned when I saw how dirty my socks were for just a short time. See photos.
Also you could see daylight out from under the door. The owners are Asian Indian and had some difficulty understanding them. They acted like we were crazy when I told them how dirty their rug was.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stayed for the weekend. The room was clean and we enjoyed having a refrigerator and microwave in our room. The room was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly. We enoyed our stay very much. We will definately stay there again. Jenny & Jimmy, Spartanburg, SC

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scottish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inn

Address: 178 Soco Road Highway 19, Maggie Valley, NC 28751
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Scottish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottish Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.