We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst staff ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Smokey View Cottages & RV Resort Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maggie Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smokey View Cottages & RV Resort Park
72 Crider Circle (Highway 19), Maggie Valley, NC 28751   |  
Hotel amenities
Bryson, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst staff ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

The owner promises things they do not have. This place is a scam. The manager terry, is not fit to be in a management position. I would not reccomend staying here at all. Has no business standards and has poor maintained facility. Non working washer and dryer and shower facility is usually closed.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pineville, Louisiana
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have stayed at Smokey View Cottages a number of times in the past and have always loved it! We have never had a problem and was planning on always staying there in the future. This year we made reservations months in advance. This time it was not clean, floors was dirty, paper behind furniture and doors, cobwebs in corners, the wifi did not work the whole week we were there. Two men working putting in tv black boxes was in and out of our cabin all day and most of the evening even while we ate supper. The blinds in the master bedroom was messed up and could not be closed all the way so we had to switch out blinds from another room and put a blanket over the window. None of the locks worked in the cabin to the rooms. While we were gone for the day had clothes stolen out of one room, 2 nice shirts, one was hanging on the hangers and one still in suitcase, and sleep pants stolen off the bed but the sleep shirt still there. Really weird and strange. Had never had that happen anywhere. We have always LOVED staying here.. It is a beautiful scenery and love the creek running behind and the rocking chairs and BBQ pits. So sad we had this experience and we have no idea why. Hate we had to leave early but we was scared to leave for the day to do anything after things were stolen. I guess the one who did this really needed some clothes :P God bless them and hope they get good use of them and to the staff here sorry we came at a bad time this year, guess you all had been really busy and had not had time to clean up as usual and do repairs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in one of the 2 Bedroom cottages on the beautiful, rushing creek, with a wrap around porch on three sides. The sound and the sight of the creek is breathtaking. Couldn't wait to get back in the evening to sit on the porch in the Rocking chairs. It's so relaxing.

Smoky View is pet-friendly and my dog enjoyed the fresh mountain air and became friends with the resident dogs. The view is picture perfect, being surrounded by high mountains on all 4 sides was just beyond expectation. This place is a dream come true, everything I imagined in a mountain vacation is there to find. Rustic log cabins, rocking chairs, fire pits, BBQ grills and picnic tables next to each cottage. The cottage was perfectly equipped, with TV's in all rooms and all the necessary cooking and kitchen utensils. I also loved the wood paneled kitchen and bathrooms. It has a very authentic, comfy cottage feel. There is also a covered community fire place close to the main house and office where guests can meet and talk to the locals.

The owners and the staff are terrific. Thanks again, Terry, Jeff, Joshua, Peanut (James), and housekeeping for all the helpful tips you gave us to make it the perfect vacation. The grounds were wonderful to walk around. Terry, the owner likes flowers and plants and it shows. The setting reminded me of Alpine cottages in Europe with flowers in wooden boxes in front of the windows. They also have a wonderful pool which guests can enjoy.

Right next door are the Maggie Valley Festival Grounds. There are many events and it's just a short 3 Minute walk. The Market Square Mall is also within walking distance, just a couple of blocks away, with a book store, ice cream and souvenir shops etc. Try Jelly Bellies Mountain gift shop, they have a wonderful selection of chocolates, unique post cards and delicious ice cream. Just one block further is a great neighborhood bar and Seafood Grill, Salty Dog with nightly live music or karaoke.

The Cataloochee Ski area is just 3 Miles up the mountain. Just two miles from Maggie Valley is Lake Junaluska with a beautiful 2.5 mile hiking trail around the lake. It's wonderful to walk the dogs there. There is also a nice off-leash dog park in Waynesville, about 4 miles from Maggie Valley. Just about 2 miles up the Mountain towards Cherokee is the Mountaineer Restaurant and an observation Tower which is close by with breathtaking views of the Mountains and Meadows. The ramp to the Blue Ridge Parkway is a little further down the road and Socco Falls is just another 1.5 Miles away. Visit also the Maggie Valley Rock Shop and the Maggie Valley Gift shoppe for that perfect souvenir to bring home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pink Hill, North Carolina
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

If you are looking for a cheap looking and extremely rustic place to stay this is definitely it. Just be for warned this is not for a person that enjoys clean area to sleep or stay. You must be able to enjoy seeing the day light through the cracks in the walls, the musty smell of stale tobacco smoke coming from the dirty A/C filters, mold around the top of the shower due to an unrepaired leak from shower head, dirty walls, dirty floors with trash under the beds and couch, cabinets you will not wish to place your clean linens inside of and most of all you must be able to enjoy the multiple piles of dog crap surrounding your cabin which is coming from the resident large dog. Yes if you have a pet and several campers did, you must clean up behind your pet but those rules do not apply to the staff/owners and their pets. We would of enjoyed camping in a tent better. Next time we will spend a little more and enjoy a cleaner stay or just go camping instead.

Room Tip: pay a little more and stay somewhere else or go camping with a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have been coming to Smoky View Cottages for 20+ years and plan to always come back here. Ms. Annette was an awesome lady who treated her guests like family. Now that she is gone, her daughter Terri has taken over. She is an angel and the staff is awesome. We always stay in one of two different cabins and the cabins are always immaculate. Never had a problem with dirty rooms, pool or spa. Its so peaceful and you can relax in the pool or the spa, the creek, or even just sitting on your porch watching the creek (which is what I am doing right now :) I would advise anybody to choose Smoky View Cottages...its truly like Heaven on Earth. Come be a part of Terri and her staffs family. Thanks Terri... See you next July!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hope, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent our family reunion. 6/9-6/15 this year in cabin 117. The cabin itself was great, clean linen daily. Friendly staff. What is really nice is the whole package. The year round people are so friendly. There is a mixture of people, the kids playing in the stream, the young couple walking their dog, the older couples just sitting on the porch or by a camp fire. My parents spent time here thru the years, and I have been going for the past 13 years with my husband. Sure there may be a minor thing here and there, but please name a place that has no issues! Camping at its best! I love it

Room Tip: All cabins we have stayed in is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We recently stayed at Smoky View and absolutely loved it. The staff was very friendly, our cabin was clean and had large comfy beds, the kitchen had a large variety of cookware and accessories as well as full size fridge and stove, the kids truly enjoyed playing in the pool and the creek, I was gratefully for the large relaxing hot tub. The location was perfect ...we were adjacent to the Maggie Fair grounds so parking for the events that weekend was not an issue, we were also within walking distance to several very nice restaurants and even a grocery store ( its called Hillbilly Grocery but it was a pleasant surprise we asked for hand-cut steaks and they were happy to oblige). And the rates were very nice too . We will most certainly be back to see Ms Terri and her staff!

Room Tip: cabin 119 was perfect but really all the cabins were adorable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smokey View Cottages & RV Resort Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smokey View Cottages & RV Resort Park

Address: 72 Crider Circle (Highway 19), Maggie Valley, NC 28751
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Maggie Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Specialty lodging in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokey View Cottages & RV Resort Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Smokey View Cottages & RV Resort Park to your Saves list