We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low expectations, high valuable service and accommodations !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn
3811 Soco Rd Hwy 19, P.O. Box 565, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-0565   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Huntersville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Low expectations, high valuable service and accommodations !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We booked this hotel to do a ski trip at Cataloochee and to know the NC mountains. I wasn't expecting a lot, but surprisingly this budget hotel has a great room and great service ! The only down side I noticed is that the breakfast area is small and gets very crowded. Also they could change the old TV's to a flat screen with HD, we are on year 2012, come on!

Pleasant, quiet room, clean and helpful front desk staff. This location is about 10 mins away from the ski area and has lots of great restaurants around.

Room Tip: Get the ones on the back of the hotel to avoid noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternmaggie, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We enjoy hearing all the good things about our hotel, but at the time same, like to hear the aspects where we can improve. We are in the process of updating our TV's to flat screens. The process was delayed a little due to the current economical conditions. We look forward to seeing you on your return visit!

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    86
    34
    6
    8
See reviews for
80
85
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
usa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights while skiing at Cataloochee. Our first (non-smoking) room had smoke coming up from the smoking room below us; when we mentioned it to the front desk, they quickly moved us to a different room. In the second room we were over a non-smoking family stuck in a smoking room; good for us, unfortunate for them. Both rooms we saw were clean, appliances (micro and fridge) worked and wifi was readily available. Breakfast was a little tight for space with all the families, but it was workable.

We're going to try some place else for our next trip because the smoke from the downstairs rooms permeates throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternmaggie, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for sharing your incident with us as it is through feedback that we are able to improve. I am very apologetic for the experience you had. We do have a newer separate building that is completely non-smoking. We call this our "back building". I hope that you will give us the opportunity to change your opinion of the hotel by staying with us again. I can guarantee you that our standards of service will impress you on your next trip to Maggie Valley. Email me directly at 34114@hotel.bestwestern.com and I will personally handle your reservation. Thanks and hope to see you soon!

Michael
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We just stayed at this motel for the second time in four months. Were put in a different room with a king sized bed this time but still found the mattress and pillows to be the best we've slept on in a hotel or motel. Since this room was designed for a handicapped person, the bath was quite large with a great shower. Would love to get this room again. The double queen room in July had a rather small bath. The people we dealt with at the front desk were friendly and helpful again and we'll definitely stay at the Mountainbrook the next time we're in Maggie Valley.

Room Tip: All rooms have rocking chairs outside front doors but if you are in the front building, you get a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternmaggie, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your recent review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will be returning. Thanks and see you soon!

Michael
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville Ga
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We found the Mountainbrook Inn to be a clean pleasant motel that had been updated and remodeled. The front desk staff were very accomodating and helpful and provided good recommendations regarding resturant and shopping in the area. We normally stay in the Asheville area, but will be returning to Maggie Valley and Best Western on our next trip to the area.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternmaggie, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very happy to hear that you will be returning to our hotel. See you soon!

Michael
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC. USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Almost each summer we visit this area and enjoy the mountains, waterfalls and the immense natural beauty this place has to offer. We make maggie valley as are base camp and visit all area that are 1-2hrs drive from here. We have been to Cherokee reservation, the resort (chairlits) in Gatlinburg- TN, waterfalls (looking glass- the best waterfall) and hooker falls and triple falls in Brevard, Clingmans dome, Fontana lake and Cades cove. Do not forget to visit the Waterrock knob overlook. As far as the hotel is considered. We like it and have no problems and we try to stay here everytime. It is not very fancy or newly built structure but everything is there. Staff is good and friendly, rooms and bathrooms are not very big but they are clean. One thing they can improve is the carpet in the rooms, if they change it that would make the room look more fresh. They have pools and our kids enjoyed a lot in the pool and did not want to come out. Its a small town and small cozy hotel. Everything closes early in the evening so be prepard for that. I would recommend this hotel as this place is convenient and if you like to have great views of nature, this is it. There is a mountain in the front and each morning and sunset yon can sit on a rocking chair and enjoy the surroundings.

Room Tip: Take a room on the upper floor to enjoy the rocking chair and mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternmaggie, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and we're so happy to hear that you enjoy staying in Maggie Valley. We are conviently located to many attractions in the Smoky Mountain area. We are in the process of updating our room carpet along with a few other things. This was delayed due to the current economical conditions. However, we hope to have it completed by your next visit. Thanks and see you soon!

Michael
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I found this hotel online and loved that it was near the mountains. My boyfriend and I checked in/stayed for one night as we were adopting a dog in the Asheville area. We also wanted to see the Blue Ridge Parkway. We had a handicap room so there was lots of space. Bed was comfy. Pillows were nice. TV had a lot of channels including HBO. Desk/fridge/microwave in the room. FREE wifi. Hairdryer, etc. We loved it. Cute little town to stay in. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars is that the website was a little misleading about the distance between Maggie Valley and Asheville. We thought it was a lot closer but we were still pleasantly surprised. Maggie Valley is a quiant town especially in the fall. Would stay again.. also there's an entrance to the Blue Ridge Parkway that's very close... also about 15 minutes from Cherokee. People up front very knowledgeable about the area.

Room Tip: There is no gym.. only reason why I put "terrible." I would have LOVED there to be one bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternmaggie, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at our hotel and writing a review. I am very happy to hear about your recent experience and looking forward to your next visit. We are only 30 miles away from Asheville, NC, however due to the curvy scenic mountain roads, it will take longer than 30 minutes. We take pride of our central location near all the attractions in Waynesville, Cherokee and Asheville, NC. We hope to see you in the near future!

Michael
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Great hotel and staff!!! John was most helpful - so was the gentleman who checked us out on Sunday morning. We love Maggie Valley and staying @ Best Western made our 25th anniversary trip wonderful!!

Room Tip: Like staying on the ground floor next to our bike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn

Address: 3811 Soco Rd Hwy 19, P.O. Box 565, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-0565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
#6 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountainbrook Hotel Maggie Valley
Best Western Maggie Valley
Maggie Valley Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.