We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Holiday Motel

Save Saved
You added A Holiday Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Holiday Motel
3289 Soco Rd., Maggie Valley, NC 28751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 hotels in Maggie Valley
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We were driving through Maggie Valley, and found A Holiday Motel through a 'secret hotel' deal. I have to admit that I wouldn't have chosen it out right, looking at the reviews. However, the place has real character, and although slightly outdated, has clearly been looked after. The staff were friendly and welcoming, and the room was clean (and free WiFi is always a plus). The shower took some time to warm up, presumably since our room was at the end of the row, and the beds were also not the most comfortable. All of this is fairly reflected in the room rate.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHolidayMotel, Owner at A Holiday Motel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and your visit to our little motel. Thank you for a such kind words, our friendly hospitality is our goal and we enjoy it. It is a surprise to us that the bed was not as comfortable as we would like. All our mattresses are new pillow top mattresses and they are more on the plush side not hard/firm and we had very good feedback from our customers about them. The truth is that some people prefer firm/hard mattress. We will consider have some rooms with hard/firm mattresses in the future. Thank you hope to see you again soon.
Gabi Edwards-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    25
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
49
40
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
De Pere, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great motel! Owners care a lot about the property! Very friendly and helpful. Beautiful view and area! Very clean rooms, new beds, and quiet. They treat you like you are family! I had no complaints! I definitely will stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHolidayMotel, Owner at A Holiday Motel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We appreciate your nice review and hope to see you in the future. When it warms up we will have our weekly Saturday night camp fires and we can all share some laughs together ;-)
Rob & Gabi
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Wife and I decided at the last minute to stay in Maggie Valley after meeting some friends for dinner. I found the A Holiday Motel on Tripadvisor and read the reviews. Called and made reservation for one night at $39 for a king room. Room was very clean and comfortable. Perfect for our stay. Front desk was extremely friendly. Check in/out was a breeze. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHolidayMotel, Owner at A Holiday Motel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our little motel. We really appreciate your business and we are looking forward to see you again in the future. Rob & Gabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The first time I stayed at the motel, I was caught in the rain on my motorcycle. They checked in my party and I quickly and made sure we had what we needed. They allowed us to pull our bikes up on the porch and gave us rags to wipe them down with. The following year a friend and I went back and stayed a whole week. The owner showed us on a map some great roads and sights to see while on our motorcycles. He said "If you get lost call me and I will tell you where to go and if you break down call and I will come get you." Because of the incredible service and hospitality, my friends, family, and I continue to go back yearly and consider the owners Rob and Gabi to be friends. The surrounding scenery is also breathtaking.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHolidayMotel, Owner at A Holiday Motel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. Our friendly hospitality is one of he most important thing in our business. We are looking forward to see you in the future and welcome you with a smile on our face again! Thank you Rob & Gabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, S.C.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My, husband , myself, sister-in-law and brother-in-law all stayed at The Holiday Motel on February 15th and 16th 2013. We had the Best Time and it was so much fun. We stayed in room number 9 and played cards and loved watching the snow fall. The owners of this motel Rob and Gabi are just wonderful. They are so nice and friendly to everyone they meet. Rob, brought us a table for us to play cards on, and if you need anything they are very helpful. The room was clean, comfortable and cozy for the 4 of us. We have stayed here before and we will definitely be back. Thanks so much Rob and Gabi for everything!!!!
Rickey and Beverly Phillips from Easley, South Carolina
Ted and Mickey W.

Room Tip: Great Place To Stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHolidayMotel, Owner at A Holiday Motel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. It's always great to see you and we are looking forward to see you again soon! Rob & Gabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosperity, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed at the holiday motel Feb 1,2 2013 . The staff was very helpful and nice, the rooms were clean and comfortable, a great location and very affordable. I would definitely recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHolidayMotel, Owner at A Holiday Motel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. Cleanliness ans friendly hospitality is our goal here at A Holiday Motel. We are looking forward to see you again in the future. Thank you Rob & Gabi - owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stopped at this motel for one night and as you park your car you already appreciate the place. It is not a new motel, but well taken care off. The open space, BBQ area, nice chairs outside the room and great decorations. The room was clean and bed was comfortable. Great value for money. We had some trouble with low strength of wireless signal (our room was in the middle of the motel), but we found our way. The owners were very kind and helpful.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHolidayMotel, Owner at A Holiday Motel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. It's always a pleasure to meet people visiting USA from other countries. Especially Europe since I (Gabi) was born in the Czech Republic. We hope you have enjoyed the rest of your trip here in USA and hopefully we will see you in the future. Thank you Rob & Gabi - owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Holiday Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Holiday Motel

Address: 3289 Soco Rd., Maggie Valley, NC 28751
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
#5 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Holiday Motel is located in heart of Maggie Valley, NC. Our motel has a fun Western Theme and it is run by our family. You can splash in our pool, play horseshoes or just relax in our rocking chairs. We are open all year and have a restaurant on-site serving breakfast and lunch. Our rooms are clean and comfortable and our service is friendly and always with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your A Holiday Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Holiday Hotel Maggie Valley
Hotel a Holiday

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Holiday Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.