We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was too loud.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Smoky Falls Lodge

Smoky Falls Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maggie Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smoky Falls Lodge
Save
You added Smoky Falls Lodge to your Saves list
2550 Soco Road, Maggie Valley, NC 28751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Birmingham, AL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It was too loud.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

This was our second stay at Smoky Falls Lodge. It was okay the first time because we got one of the larger rooms in the one story building. This past time we got a much smaller room on the first floor of the 2 story section. The worst part is that we could hear the footsteps of the people in the 2nd floor. Not so great when they come in late and get up early.

I don't care for Maggie Valley as a destination and won't be back. They cater to the motorcycle crowd and that makes it a terribly noisy place. I went outside late in the day to sit by the creek. In an hour, barely 5 minutes would go by without the obnoxious "blaaattttt" of several Harley's. If you're a person who goes to the mountains for peace, this is not a great place.

  • Liked — Next to Blue Ridge Parkway
  • Disliked — The racket
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    9
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

Well the room was very small had in the right side 2nd floor.
Maggie Valley rolls up the side walk at night hard to find a drink or something to eat.
The location is fantasic to the blue ridge,great parking for motorcycles and trailers.
They are very freindly however the room was a little pricie for the area.
The resterant is closed mon.tues and wed so plan on that when booking however there are others to eat at.
The wifi doesnt work unless you sit under it.
We have a nice time for the 3 nights we stayed there.
Maggie valley is very very quiet!!

  • Liked — the location to the blue ridge parkway plus interstate access
  • Disliked — no wifi,boring nitelife
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

We chose the place after seeing the website. We stayed the weekend so we could take the kids to see local attractions. The Lodge looks very attractive compared to the surrounding motels. The room was very roomy and you could tell that they had recently renovated and refreshed the Lodge. There were other nice amenities- motorcycle parking, large covered porch, Koi pond. Some rooms even had outside seating. However, we didn't try the restaurant. Staff was very friendly. It is within a short walking distance to a souvenier shop and gas/convenience store. My only minus was that I hope that they decide to redo the bathtubs to match the newness of the room itself.. (I can only speak for my own room, other rooms could've been redone.)

  • Liked — Attractive, Cozy, Great Value for $$$ - Newly Renovated
  • Disliked — Bathtub
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2008

We stayed here last year and it was wonderful. Rooms adorable, decoration in general adorable, very cozy and homy. Common areas wonderful. Food was not so great. Other than that, wonderful place for couples, families, etc. Very nice atmosphere and accommodating staff. N

  • Liked — Very cozy and comfortable.
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

Very nice place to stay. Staff was very nices & helpfull. The rooms are great!! They're very large & clean, they are not your standard size hotel room. We satayed on the 2ND floor, all rooms on the second floor have vaulted ceilings. This gives a openness to the room. SOME ROOMS HAVE 2 KINGS & 1 QUEEN AND SOME HAVE 2 QUEENS AND 1 KING, FOR THE LARGER FAMILIES. THERE IS ALSO A RESTAURANT ON SITE. This is one of the nicest places to stay in maggie valley, nc

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smoky Falls Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoky Falls Lodge

Address: 2550 Soco Road, Maggie Valley, NC 28751
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Smoky Falls Hotel Maggie Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoky Falls Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.