We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo Motel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maggie Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alamo Motel & Cottages
1485 Soco Road, Maggie Valley, NC 28751   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Alamo One Bedroom Cottage
Ranked #1 of 26 hotels in Maggie Valley
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Mike and Dawn were super friendly. Our cabin was clean and tidy. Our dog had a blast and adored Dawn. Her pet sitting service allowed us to enjoy our time out, with no worries about our little one. The owners attitude made this a great trip.

Room Tip: The creek flows right behind some of the cabins, very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
50
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Locust, North Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was our third trip to the Alamo and Dawn made a reservation for us on such short notice. We have stayed in a couple of cottages and now the motel rooms. They are neat and clean. All are decorated with bright , cheerful colors, home made, "fun" curtains and upholstered chairs. The front yard is covered profusely in gorgeous marigolds, roses, dahlias, morning glories, and
whatever seasonal decor is appropriate. Pets are welcomed as warmly as the guests! They have their own furniture covers, piddle pads and baggies!!. Dawn is a gorgeous, gregarious, delightful Irish-Canadian who never meets a stranger. Mike is her handsome, hardworking husband. Both make you feel like family and work their tushies off!! We are already planning our next trip and plan to take our son and his girlfriend with us. We can't wait!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Mike and Dawn treated us like we all were part of their family. There was 6 coupkes total and no had anything but praise for Dawn &Mike and The Alamo. So as you can guess we will be holding our 2nd annual "wild Hawgs II" spring ride with them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a owner / operated motel. Pet friendly. This was the part that I thought about after making resavations. I am allergic to some cats & & dogs. The outdoor type really. When I went into my room I was supprised. This room smelled so good and was very clean. WiFi was excellent for uploading my photos to FB. Plenty of grills around (charcoal/gas). Very quiet place. The only dog I heard was in the next yard. If you decide to stay bring an adapter for more outlets & extenion cord for your laptop or rechargables.Most of the outlets are being used.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Cleaner then most newer hotels. Mike and Dawn are warm, funny, hospitable and so accommodating. Real towels!! Our family of 2 adults and 2 four-legged "kids" really enjoyed our stay. We originally chose this motel from reviews and they were correct.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mooresville, n.c.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Jim and I have alot going on in our lives right now. Just got off the phone with Dawn who booked us in one of our favorite cottages. This will be our last visit until our husky, Shayla recouperates from her knee surgery.
if you want a lovely place to stay with your pets, this is the place. Dawn and Mike bend over backwards to help out in any way that they can. Shayla loves them to death and Gaston, their shepard as well. Anita Mason

Room Tip: ask for a cottage, you can do some of your own cooking to save a little money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Dawn, Mike (and of course) Gaston made our trip to Maggie Valley complete. We needed a few days of R&R and their wonderful hospitality and pet friendliness was such a blessing. We so look forward to seeing you again next year!

Chester, Elaine and Guy beagle Cobb
Raleigh, N.C.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alamo Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Motel & Cottages

Address: 1485 Soco Road, Maggie Valley, NC 28751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
#2 Best Value Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in beautiful Maggie Valley, North Carolina, in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains. Open year round and accessible, we have 1, 2 & 3 bedroom Cottages, on & off the creek with a wonderful view of the mountains, pet friendly and free pet sitting, full kitchens, covered porches, motel rooms with 1 or 2 beds & equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker. We have an enclosed gazebo, gas grills, fire pit, picnic tables, wifi. Motorcycle Accessible "We are your home away from home, quaint, cozy & homey!" $45-$129 nt $323-$853 wk. Group discounts & military discount & ski packages available. Close to Cataloochee for winter skiing & tubing vacations, minutes from Harrah's Casino.Next door to the great Smoky Mountains National Park, 3 minutes from the Maggie Valley Festival Grounds. Take a scenic drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway & the "Tail of The Dragon" Ride the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad. We are a true "Mom & Pop" business. We will show you genuine mountain hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alamo Hotel Maggie Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alamo Motel & Cottages to your Saves list