We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best "Lil" Motel In North Carolina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo Motel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maggie Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alamo Motel & Cottages
Save
You added Alamo Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
1485 Soco Road, Maggie Valley, NC 28751   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
One Bedroom Cottages
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best "Lil" Motel In North Carolina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Cleaner then most newer hotels. Mike and Dawn are warm, funny, hospitable and so accommodating. Real towels!! Our family of 2 adults and 2 four-legged "kids" really enjoyed our stay. We originally chose this motel from reviews and they were correct.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanneane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
mooresville, n.c.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Jim and I have alot going on in our lives right now. Just got off the phone with Dawn who booked us in one of our favorite cottages. This will be our last visit until our husky, Shayla recouperates from her knee surgery.
if you want a lovely place to stay with your pets, this is the place. Dawn and Mike bend over backwards to help out in any way that they can. Shayla loves them to death and Gaston, their shepard as well. Anita Mason

Room Tip: ask for a cottage, you can do some of your own cooking to save a little money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1bikermom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Dawn, Mike (and of course) Gaston made our trip to Maggie Valley complete. We needed a few days of R&R and their wonderful hospitality and pet friendliness was such a blessing. We so look forward to seeing you again next year!

Chester, Elaine and Guy beagle Cobb
Raleigh, N.C.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine03_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Hill, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I will be telling everyone i know about the Alamo Motel, i loved Dawn from the moment i first spoke with her, she is friendly and easy to talk to. The motel is warm, cozy, it becons you to come inside, the quilts on the bed such a nice touch had it been raining i would not have left my room, the view of the mountains adds a nice touch as does the fire pit in the garden with a warm fire every night and very nice people to sit and chat with. I will be coming back and Dawn my manager may lock me in the cellar, but if you ever need any help i am your girl :)

Room Tip: I can not say enough good things about this motel, i just loved it, Dawn makes everyone feel special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuanitaRidgway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We waited until just days before going to Maggie Valley July 4th week to try and book a reservation where pets were allowed. We just needed a place that accepted pets and we got way more than we bargained for. Dawn would come and take our dog for walks while we were out sight seeing. Dawn and Mike did our laundry and set us up with a fire pit to roast marshmallows one night. It was a truly wonderful, down home experience that is distinctively different than staying in a motel/hotel. And it was a great value too!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with pets, this is the place to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon_Plano_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
218 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

A friend and I stayed at Alamo Motel in May and really enjoyed it. We had the motor home next to the creek (if you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs!) and it was very relaxing. Dawn gave us lots of good advice on places to eat (the bakery is outstanding) and directions for places to see in the Smoky Mountains (Chattahoochee Valley was superb, and we had it almost all to ourselves). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We spend a couple of nights last week with Mike and Dawn. They are the on site owners, and chief caretakers of the property. Hard working people who want you to enjoy yourself and do all they can to make your stay with them more enjoyable.
This is a quaint 1950's style motel with cottages on a fast running creek. Nothing fancy but very clean and comfortable. Our little cottage had all the amenties we wanted. We especially enjoyed sitting on the front porch at the end of the day with a drink in our hands. Made friends with the couple next door and sat around and cut up both evenings. The atmosphere at the Alamo is very laid back and casual, a far cry from the big chain places. Prices are very reasonable. I will reccomend them to any of our friends that are going their way. Thank you, Mike and Dawn!

Room Tip: Stayed on the creek with our little dog, very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherylkrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
2.4 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#12 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Limited Maggie Valley
Ramada Limited Maggie Valley
#13 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn
BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn
#9 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Clarketon Motel
The Clarketon Motel
#7 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
1.5 mi away
Twinbrook Resort
Twinbrook Resort
#15 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Motel & Cottages

Address: 1485 Soco Road, Maggie Valley, NC 28751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
#2 Best Value Hotel in Maggie Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in beautiful Maggie Valley, North Carolina, in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains. Open year round and accessible, we have 1, 2 & 3 bedroom Cottages, on & off the creek with a wonderful view of the mountains, pet friendly and free pet sitting, full kitchens, covered porches, motel rooms with 1 or 2 beds & equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker. We have an enclosed gazebo, gas grills, fire pit, picnic tables, wifi. Motorcycle Accessible "We are your home away from home, quaint, cozy & homey!" $45-$139 nt $323-$853 wk. Group discounts & military discount & ski packages available. Close to Cataloochee for winter skiing & tubing vacations, minutes from Harrah's Casino.Next door to the great Smoky Mountains National Park, 3 minutes from the Maggie Valley Festival Grounds. Take a scenic drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway & the "Tail of The Dragon" Ride the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad. We are a true "Mom & Pop" business. We will show you genuine mountain hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alamo Hotel Maggie Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing