We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quick get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo Motel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maggie Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alamo Motel & Cottages
1485 Soco Road, Maggie Valley, NC 28751   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Alamo One Bedroom Cottage
Ranked #1 of 26 hotels in Maggie Valley
mooresville, n.c.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“quick get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Jim and I have alot going on in our lives right now. Just got off the phone with Dawn who booked us in one of our favorite cottages. This will be our last visit until our husky, Shayla recouperates from her knee surgery.
if you want a lovely place to stay with your pets, this is the place. Dawn and Mike bend over backwards to help out in any way that they can. Shayla loves them to death and Gaston, their shepard as well. Anita Mason

Room Tip: ask for a cottage, you can do some of your own cooking to save a little money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
44
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Dawn, Mike (and of course) Gaston made our trip to Maggie Valley complete. We needed a few days of R&R and their wonderful hospitality and pet friendliness was such a blessing. We so look forward to seeing you again next year!

Chester, Elaine and Guy beagle Cobb
Raleigh, N.C.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Hill, Missouri, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I will be telling everyone i know about the Alamo Motel, i loved Dawn from the moment i first spoke with her, she is friendly and easy to talk to. The motel is warm, cozy, it becons you to come inside, the quilts on the bed such a nice touch had it been raining i would not have left my room, the view of the mountains adds a nice touch as does the fire pit in the garden with a warm fire every night and very nice people to sit and chat with. I will be coming back and Dawn my manager may lock me in the cellar, but if you ever need any help i am your girl :)

Room Tip: I can not say enough good things about this motel, i just loved it, Dawn makes everyone feel special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We waited until just days before going to Maggie Valley July 4th week to try and book a reservation where pets were allowed. We just needed a place that accepted pets and we got way more than we bargained for. Dawn would come and take our dog for walks while we were out sight seeing. Dawn and Mike did our laundry and set us up with a fire pit to roast marshmallows one night. It was a truly wonderful, down home experience that is distinctively different than staying in a motel/hotel. And it was a great value too!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with pets, this is the place to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

A friend and I stayed at Alamo Motel in May and really enjoyed it. We had the motor home next to the creek (if you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs!) and it was very relaxing. Dawn gave us lots of good advice on places to eat (the bakery is outstanding) and directions for places to see in the Smoky Mountains (Chattahoochee Valley was superb, and we had it almost all to ourselves). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We spend a couple of nights last week with Mike and Dawn. They are the on site owners, and chief caretakers of the property. Hard working people who want you to enjoy yourself and do all they can to make your stay with them more enjoyable.
This is a quaint 1950's style motel with cottages on a fast running creek. Nothing fancy but very clean and comfortable. Our little cottage had all the amenties we wanted. We especially enjoyed sitting on the front porch at the end of the day with a drink in our hands. Made friends with the couple next door and sat around and cut up both evenings. The atmosphere at the Alamo is very laid back and casual, a far cry from the big chain places. Prices are very reasonable. I will reccomend them to any of our friends that are going their way. Thank you, Mike and Dawn!

Room Tip: Stayed on the creek with our little dog, very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay! We were in the area for 4 days on a motorcycle ride with some friends. The best part of this motel was that it was not over crowded with people and the set up on the grounds made it easy to socialize with our friends after we got back from a day of riding. It felt like we were in our back yard not the grounds of a motel. We cooked out on the grills, used the fire pit, played cards in the gazebo after dark and even washed the bike one evening. I know the motel is pet friendly and I was worried about a pet smell but there wasn’t at all! It was clean and fresh with no bed bugs (I always check). The owners, Dawn and Mike (although I kept calling him Jerry??) will do anything they can to make sure your stay is a pleasurable one. To give you your privacy they don’t enter your room during your stay so if you need anything you’ll need to swap it out with them. I would stay here again in a heart beat. Oh, and there is a bakery right down the street, not sure what the name was but I highly recommend them for breakfast. Prices were great and the food was wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alamo Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Motel & Cottages

Also Known As:
Alamo Hotel Maggie Valley
Address: 1485 Soco Road, Maggie Valley, NC 28751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
#5 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in beautiful Maggie Valley, North Carolina, in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains. Open year round and accessible, we have 1, 2 & 3 bedroom Cottages, on & off the creek with a wonderful view of the mountains, pet friendly and free pet sitting, full kitchens, covered porches, motel rooms with 1 or 2 beds & equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker. We have an enclosed gazebo, gas grills, fire pit, picnic tables, wifi. Motorcycle Accessible "We are your home away from home, quaint, cozy & homey!" $45-$129 nt $323-$853 wk. Group discounts & military discount & ski packages available. Close to Cataloochee for winter skiing & tubing vacations, minutes from Harrah's Casino.Next door to the great Smoky Mountains National Park, 3 minutes from the Maggie Valley Festival Grounds. Take a scenic drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway & the "Tail of The Dragon" Ride the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad. We are a true "Mom & Pop" business. We will show you genuine mountain hospitality. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alamo Motel & Cottages to your Saves list